Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mask

by Mnemusyne - Jam Entry

Rotate your masks with arrow keys to attract or repel. Press space to swallow those under you.

By Lucas(@AD1337) & Gabe(@notgaeb).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#66Innovation(Jam)3.79
#111Audio(Jam)3.70
#121Mood(Jam)3.67
#224Overall(Jam)3.44
#224Graphics(Jam)3.75
#334Humor(Jam)2.67
#361Fun(Jam)3.00
#565Theme(Jam)2.71
#1633Coolness44%

Comments

Natman says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Nice art, atmosphere, and premise. The gameplay starts out pretty easy and then quickly ramps up to punishingly difficult. The first time I opened the game, it froze at the intro screen.

alvarop says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:52am

I like how you used the theme and the atmosphere of your game. The mechanic is quite interesting too. The graphics are neat.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:13am

Ohh, creepy :)

What's with the product placement? ;P

mcburrobit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Man I love, love, LOVE that artstyle.

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Very innovative, I love the mechanic.

Mnemusyne says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Thanks guys! If you're stuck on the menu and space doesn't start the game, please try refreshing. Dunno what's up.

Tuism says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Wow what an interesting premise. I'm not sure what to make of it, which means it's thought provoking, which is good :)

Yes what's up with the Peps? :)

Also I had it crash once, or at least... It was on the main menu without any way to progress.

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Well done! Well built atmosphere and interesting gameplay!

RadioLemon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:56pm

Managed a score of 55! It was confusing at first, but once I knew what I was doing, I had fun!

illugion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Great game ! It gives that creepy feeling when you hear that music, the sound effects and art are nicely done too. When I started the game I didn't have idea of what i should do but then i started to swallow everyone and ended up learning haha great job ! ( got 49, it was hard D: )

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

Man, I really dug this art style, and of the "mask" games I've played so far this jam, this one is definitely my favorite. It's cute and memorable. It gets the "attract and repel through showing different faces" thing down, while adding a fresh twist. So, great job there.

One thing you might do for a post-compo version would to be a little bit clearer about how lives are lost--I found myself confused the first couple times I played as to why that had happened, since I was so busy keeping track of the screen I couldn't associate my actions with the lost health.

wicht says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:30am

Very innovative idea. The mood (lighting & audio) is quite nice. Had fun!

May 2, 2014 @ 4:46pm

This was a pretty original game, and a wery odd one at that. I liked the mood, and the fact that the game was so simple. Well done ;)

vexille says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:12pm

At first I thought all I needed to do was leave the smiley mask on and the game would win itself, but I underestimated the power of tridimentionality!

I think the message would be clearer to the player if you could only rotate the mask in discrete intervals, in such a way that the player couldn't think that they could be effectively with one active mask at the time (which would break the game, if you could leave the sad mask off all the time.)

Very cool idea though! The mood in general is great, very innovative too!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]