Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Drill a Kilometer

by Clavus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Fame and fortune are said to await the driller that reaches a 1000m into the earth. A few obstacles are on the way though, such as hard rocks, TNT caches, and underground drill-missile systems. But what is a drilling life without a little challenge?

Post your run times in the comments. Bonus if you make it without taking damage.

Controls explain themselves. Arrow keys to steer or speed up.

OS/X version is UNTESTED. Please let me know if it's working.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Theme4.00
#54Fun3.86
#124Overall3.75
#246Graphics3.69
#431Mood3.13
#472Audio2.89
#626Innovation2.96
#714Humor2.22
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

diemer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46am

Works swimmingly on OS X. 751m was as far as I've made it thus far.

PartyBoat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Really fun to play! Loved the missiles just coming out of nowhere. Beat it in 141 seconds.

longshorts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Bloody missiles! I keep dying at around 800 meters! If I wasn't rushing to get to 1k I could probably actually finish it :P Very good gameplay!

Druid says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:59pm

I hate controls little bit :D Can you add something like swap controls? I really need Key left = right and Key right = left :D

MSaul says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:01pm

I reach the 1000m in 143.4 sec (dunno if it's a good score).
I've got the same idea at the begining but I change some things (but it still a cool idea). It's great to see my first idea implemented. Good job.

Ellian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Wish there were different neemies, or something more likely to be underground (dinosaur bones, oil/gaz layer and such!), but a very solid entry.
Well done!

Zazibar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:12pm

Simple and fun to play, great entry.

ioboi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Nice, really fun to play!
I was killed by 995m, dammit :D

Snowflower says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Plays nice and smooth on osx for me, would love a swap left/right keys option as well , the default mapping fights against my intuition.

Would be cool to have a version of this game with a longer vertical playfield (an aspect ratio similar to vertically scrolling arcade shooters) so you could plan out your drilling path just alittle more.

King_Mew says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Cute game! The missile sound effects were a bit loud.

Idkfawin32 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:49pm

addictive, I can't seem to get past 900ish meters without getting destroyed

gmaker says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:36pm

great job!

Photon says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Got down on my first try! Pretty good in my opinion, if not a little too spammy with the obstacles, but its still pretty good for an endless "driller" with random obstacles. :)

kevinAlbs says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:10pm

This was really fun and the graphics and sound all fit together very nicely. The difficulty was maybe a little too easy as it took only 4-5 tries to beat. If you made an infinite version as an app, I would definitely get it.

romandtom says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 7:03am

I think it's too much CPU/RAM for this game
Anyway, great idea, I loved it, reached 1000m :)

May 9, 2014 @ 7:58am

Nice Game I reach in 164.1 seconsd

finefin says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 10:33am

beat it on the third try and had fun. well done :)

Moosefly says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:26pm

116.4 seconds with 3 units of life left. Took me almost 10 tries though. I also would've loved inversed controls, and maybe some kind of a short turbo-boost that automatically recharges over time? Would'v ehelped with those missiles. The gameplay was nice and juicy and the difficulty of the randomly generated map felt really good.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]