Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fight The Infection

by Thepattybeast - 48 Hour Compo Entry

How To Play:

Your goal is to defend the red blood cells against the virus for as long as possible. When the virus touched a red blood cell it will get infected. When all of the red blood cells are infected you lose. You get dna from enemies when they die. you get to evolve every time you pick up 4 pieces of dna.

Controls:
WASD - Move
LMB(Hold) - Fire
Mouse - Aim
Esc - Pause
E - Open Evolve Menu(When Avalible)

Made In Unity - https://unity3d.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#517Fun3.06
#660Innovation2.91
#754Overall2.97
#774Theme3.00
#820Humor2.06
#997Mood2.45
#1031Audio1.47
#1166Graphics2.09

Comments

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:36am

Cool concept, but for some reason at 160s+ the number of virus cells suddenly became 10 times the usually amount and they filled the screen pretty quickly.

Thepattybeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Should be fixed now.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Cool game! Love upgrading that fire speed! :)

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:47pm

713 kills! Lasted 418 seconds, after 400s things get a bit... crazy :p Nice little shooter with a good upgrade system!

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Too many ennemies! x)
Good job!

bakpakin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:09am

When I tried to play the Mac version, it linked to a linux version. Is this a mistake, or are they the same?

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:11am

Hm, I actually liked it quite a bit. There were a few flawed design decisions-- movement speed is far too low, it doesn't really make sense to upgrade your fire power beyond the point where you can kill a virus in one shot, etc.-- but it's a pretty cool concept. Maybe add in a way to save infected cells too, so that it isn't an unwinnable game.

Oh, and the Pepsi Consultant line at the very beginning was an awesome touch. I laughed out loud at that, and that feeling carried through the whole experience.

eerongal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:12am

Beyond a certain point, upgrading anything other than firing speed seems a waste of resources. It seems like you only ever need to upgrade damage once. Other than that, fun little game!

jayitinc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:18am

Very fun. Probably spent the most time on this game!

muramasa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:43am

Mother of god. These infectious cells are so stupidly fast! Got to ~400 seconds, then the enemies started to speed up exponentially. One thing I don't understand is why the game starts so slow, that it seems to be lagging. I don't really know if that's the case, maybe because red healthy cells consume more resources than green infected cells...?

I like the game, pretty fun and overall nice. No sound, but it's fine, I think.

lfpetrini says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:31am

Simple yet addictive, kept me entertained for a long time.

Hayawi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:17am

Very nice shooter, but the character snowballs much faster than the enemies can manage, also, annoying horde bug is annoying

Huder says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:16pm

It runs terribly slow for me :(
How is that possible this is only bunch of simple objects. You did something wrong with optimization.

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:22pm

I went into this a little bit skeptical from the screenshots but it actually ended up being pretty fun! Nice!

dertom says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:21pm

I guess I lost the fight :( Poor, me! I like the game, but I could had have a bit more power! Even though you have powerups, which is very cool, you could have think of make the 'bullet' a bit more visible. Good job!

bucketh3ad says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:40pm

Cool variation on the standard twin stick shooter. I like that the world took damage rather than the player.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Somewhere at like the 270s mark the screen just suddenly filled with highspeed badguys and seemed sort of impossible to overcome. Something neat to do might be having your white blood cell change the yellow blood cells back when they collide, making the movement speed level more useful than just allowing you to pickup DNA faster.

Stuffie says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Good work, fun game. The upgrading is a nice touch though the damage upgrade isn't so useful after a couple levels

MrBlade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:32pm

Tested this game on a slow computer, Unity launcher defaulted to native screen resolution with no options in the drop down to change it. I assume this was intentional as in all other Unity games I have played, there are at least 480p-1080p options available. Because of the high resolution, I was not able to play this game without playing at 5 FPS. I am not rating this game because I don't feel as if I could reasonably play it. Please do not lock your resolution. Not only was the game unplayable, because it was native resolution the UI was off the screen. The only solution to fix the UI would to be to play in fullscreen, but that would only make the game perform worse. While it is true, the computer I am testing on this is crap, there is literally no reason to lock the resolution.

CiderPunk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:48pm

was more fun when I found you could move :)

misterwalter says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Damage upgrades were kinda useless after about level 4, because I was one-shotting enemies already, which was a little sad.
I really enjoyed the steep ramp up though, it was a wonderful moment, even if it was probably some variety of glitch. I also liked the "health" system of the game, with an invulnerable player avatar and helpless "civilians" to protect. I started off making sacrifices for the greater good, then focused all my efforts on the last survivor.
All in all quite fun, and honestly much more so than I anticipated.

wilbefast says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Reminds me a lot of 'Zombie 4' http://www.hardcorepawn.com/zombie4/ though here the enemies and NPC don't react to eachother, which is a bit of a shame. It makes it hard to choose strategically who to 'save'.

The concept is interesting but the early game is really clunky to control, the 'toy' isn't much fun to manipulate until you've upgraded it a bit, which is a problem as a lot of people might not stick around long enough to find that out.

wilbefast says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Oops, I posted before finishing writing :S

Good job anyway, this game is a game which is game-y, I hope you'll stick around and keep making games ;)

Andy Gainey says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 8:54pm

I thought the horde provided an interesting game mode. As soon as that happened, I found a small cluster of remaining healthy cells (or even just one lone cell), sat on top of it, and fired rapidly in all directions. It does probably make a lot of the best times incredibly similar though, since most people will make it to that point, and then lose within a narrow range of time.

At first I didn't realize that my unit could also run into the infections to kill them, so I was carefully avoiding them and worried every time I went to the edge to grab DNA. The end-game horde was also less interesting within that mindset, as I could no longer pick up DNA or run to the remaining healthy cells. My end-game play style thus changed when I figured that out. But early game hardly mattered because my unit was so crazy slow.

I had some annoyances with the evolve feature. As soon as you choose an evolution, the game resumes instantly. So I found myself trying to press the mouse button on the play field *as soon as possible* because in the later stages, every single moment of firing is important. I'm spraying bullets everywhere, and the fewer bullets I'm firing, the lower my average rate of killing off the infection. But I also then had a bad habit of getting the timing wrong a few times, or clicking outside of the window and bringing some other window to the foreground. Having just a fraction of a second delay after choosing an evolution would have made that feel less frustrating.

The evolution menu also didn't update the numbers in the buttons correctly when I had 8+ bits of DNA and did multiple evolutions at once.

A notable visual indicator for where my cursor was could be useful. I was having a hard time tracking by my unit and my target simultaneously, and peripheral vision was almost no help, since my unit, the DNA, and the mouse cursor were all too small for my peripheral vision to care. Visually knowing when I had enough DNA to evolve was also a little tricky.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]