Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

ThisDarkMttr

by rpgwhitelock - Jam Entry

- ThisDarkMttr -
- Explore the fundamental particles and mysteries of the entire known universe -
- atmospheric solar system exploration -

- An interactive toy? Or relaxation aid? What are those�images? -

LMB - Explosively break beneath the surface of reality.
MMB - Move perception point closer to investigate.
RMB - Rotate perception point to seek another angle.
SPACEBAR - Enter the solar system in first person subjective mode to explore, press again to return to your heavenly vantage point.
ESC - Return to reality in an instant.

---------------------------------------------

T - Take a screenshot. Will hopefully save it somewhere near the game's location. (Not on Web version).

note - Download desktop version for best experience. Web version doesn't seem to like buttons being held down...
note - May require a fairly powerful machine. Runs fine on my rMBP but I have had reports of low framerates.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#6Mood(Jam)4.50
#15Audio(Jam)4.26
#19Graphics(Jam)4.59
#80Innovation(Jam)3.74
#124Overall(Jam)3.62
#523Fun(Jam)2.71
#577Humor(Jam)2.00
#633Theme(Jam)2.53

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:51pm

Wow
Loved this, So subversive music was great, camera angles were great and the lighting was fantastic.
Any critisizm I would be able to say here would only be nit picking

Tomski says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:21am

Very cool, great audio, really relaxing.

MerlijnVH says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:22am

Very cool and atmospheric. One of the most beautiful entries I've seen. I wish I could click and hold LMB to sweep through the particles!

mutuware says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:37pm

I think I just exploded the universe.

wilpel1234 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:06pm

This is realy cool

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:10pm

Very beautiful, and cool, different idea. I kind of wish there was more of an objective in the game, or maybe I missed it?

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:15pm

really great! i love games like this. its kinda like my game in a way. awesome stuff 5/5

Mnemusyne says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Great atmosphere and graphics, I couldn't quite understand the gameplay.

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Very surreal, cool feel.

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Beautiful. Web version is a little laggy, but still easily playable.
Whatever it was, I enjoyed it.

cbear_wallis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:35pm

This was really cool ^_^

Elforama says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:21am

Very nice visuals and atmosphere.

mcapraro says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:45am

really nice looking and feeling.

zillix says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:35am

fantastic. the presentation and atmosphere are stunning. great work.

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:05am

very pretty looking game, and relaxing to boot

Spotline says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Beautiful and creative !

mrexcessive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Hi.. .Cool visual/audio experience you've created.

polyfied says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Inspiring, love the ambient!

DonovanWu says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:18pm

I kind of wonder how does the particles arrange themselves. Is there gravity or some similar physics effect implemented?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]