Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mind Your Business

by Noah Ratcliff - Jam Entry

How to play: Click

Play as a wordsmith an acrobat of the conscious and subconscious world. With each interaction your life hangs on the line, get the right impression of the person you are talking to before it is too late. If you make mistake, you may spend your life eternally trapped in the subconscious of a psychopathic little girl. Or you could just get lost in the woods, quit the game out of rage, then leave a comment expressing your exasperation.

I recommend restarting the game and exploring the different options... If you're lucky enough to make it through a full run without death. ;D

If you have trouble running the game, try installing the Xna Redistributable, then drop a comment, or hit me up at me@nratcliff.com, or on twitter.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#18Innovation(Jam)4.03
#42Theme(Jam)3.91
#71Graphics(Jam)4.30
#85Mood(Jam)3.81
#89Humor(Jam)3.52
#133Overall(Jam)3.59
#212Audio(Jam)3.41
#346Fun(Jam)3.03
#1633Coolness44%

Comments

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:26am

Wow, this game has depth and meaning.
The animations were a little tedious, but it was a lot of fun!
Love it

rojo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:09am

Animations are pretty slick, and the tune is catchy.

Mandlebar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Loved the aesthetic and thought it played well too! Great job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Those isometric bouncy effects are awesome, if a little impractical as far as actual gameplay goes. I like the concept too. Polished presentation all round and nice music too.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Wow such a beautiful game, and so few comments :( the graphics and animation are wonderful, the music is awesome. The way we enter the mind and see beneath the surface, amazing use of the theme. Unfortunately for me, I got trapped in the mind of a fern loving lady :P Amazing game

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Excellent presentation style, though the length of time it takes to transition between each scene became grating rather quickly. Excellent interpretation of the theme, but I wish there was some level of interaction with the world.

ComicSans says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:28am

I love the visual style!

Mr. Jif says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:46am

This is awesome! I loved the graphical style and the music was pretty catchy too. A very good and well presented take on the theme. The animations were pretty cool but did probably take a little too long as I found my third and fourth play through a tad tedious. Overall great job though!

May 2, 2014 @ 4:05am

Another XNA developer :D The concept and the story are original, great work n_n

hbocao says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:44pm

The graphics are very beautiful and I love how you used the theme. Great job! I just wish the animation were a little faster because it got annoying the more you walked through the game.

joe40001 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:38am

All my life... I have loved ferns, but never have I thought I'd find a soul mate.

Also why does Mt.Dew man dream of Pepsi? Is he a liar?

Seriously though, fun cute game. Highest marks for humor of any game I've played yet. Hippie lady might have glitched on me one playthrough, but it's not a bit deal.

I really liked this game.

ccglp says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Love the isometric graphics :)

PaperBlurt says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Woah.

Real nice.

the graphics are fresh and crisp.

And I like games with some depth.

XenosNS says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Very nice. Animations were great, though could of been a bit faster. Feel like I've heard that music somewhere but can't put my finger on it. Will likely drive me crazy tonight.

Xaychru04 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 6:57pm

The isometric transitions were awesome, maybe a bit too long though. ^^ The game was pretty original, and fun to play! :)

Snoother says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:50am

Pretty unique. And the presentation is quite polished. The main concept is very good and, for the most part, fun, if at times containing too many sudden end-games for my liking.

Techblogogy says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Good job!

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:02am

I liked it so much that I had to show it to some friends. Not all days are seen so good games, and that being in the ludum dare! I can say only one thing: Finish this game, I love it. Magnificent work!

muramasa says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:46am

That exit! I wanted to share my love for nature ;^; http://puu.sh/8DBYp.png

I think I'm a social genius. I got to enter everyone's mind without problems. EXCEPT for the hippie girl, where I can't continue with the conversation without pressing Exit "by mistake".

May 8, 2014 @ 11:48pm

Interesting concept, great humor and the music was good too! The transitions are nice at first but after a while feel quite cumbersome

danbo says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:48pm

Quite slick and polished - nice style, though the animations made it a little frustrating to play at times.

Reminds me of Sierra adventure titles with all the sudden and at times incomprehensible deaths. But exploring all those deaths is basically the fun of the game

Dunno what the deal with the misogynist pepsi guy is but he reminds me of a friend...

iambored2006 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Very interesting. I didn't know there could be product placement in an LD game :)

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 10:40am

Interesting theme use, great graphics style!

Teesquared says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 2:18am

Nice transitions and good concept. Movement and interface could use some refinement.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]