Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ordained

by RadioLemon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a vampire, and humans have come to kill you in your dungeon! Get out of there! Its made with Java, so everyone should be able to run it.

I didn't finish all 3 levels like I planned because of time constraints, but you can make your own levels if you want with the scene text parser thing; check the README.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#463Humor2.56
#816Audio2.23
#1015Innovation2.42
#1063Fun2.38
#1079Mood2.32
#1111Overall2.54
#1143Graphics2.17
#1195Theme2.04
#1669Coolness41%

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:51am

It was interesting for a stealth game, though the mechanics weren't very well explained so a little trial and error was needed. The audio cues were interesting. The bats were mostly useless, but funny to spam. I don't quite know what this had to do with the theme though, well I kind of did, but it didn't seem very related. I will add that free-falling was fun.

GreatBigJerk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Couldn't run the jar on OSX :(

jacobrb95 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:44pm

Kind of didn't know what to do at first. Not really theme driven. But interesting concept.

Zutty says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Worked fine for me on Windows 7. Good concept. It could probably do with a tutorial of some kind, as its not clear at first what you're supposed to do.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:05pm

I really like your menu =) but yep a tutorial would have been great ;)

CayoDaves says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:48pm

I think the art style, and your control scheme was well done. I saw what you tried to do in the first level with the bin. Maybe if it had been a little bit closer to the door. I must of hammered the space key a dozen times before I figured it out. That being said, I never to to find out what the bats did. Really cool story though. It's not seen often.

Neonlare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Coulda used a tutorial, didn't feel too much in kind with the theme but the game had a interesting concept (you don't usually see stealth based entries). Did enjoy it for a while, loved the presentation style.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:46am

The jar worked on OSX for me.

The hidden-vampire image made me laugh. :)

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:35am

I didn't understand at all the controls, i was shooting bats to the people or hiting space and nothing happened :/

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]