Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Diggers Refrain

by Stephan Haldaman - Jam Entry

A "music" game as a tribute to the hardships of workers everywhere, and to workers that have died in pursuit of a better life.

Feel free to follow us on Twitter:
Programming: @StephanHaldaman
Art: @verz_edu

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#12Humor(Jam)4.19
#12Audio(Jam)4.29
#14Theme(Jam)4.11
#36Overall(Jam)3.93
#54Mood(Jam)3.96
#66Innovation(Jam)3.79
#102Graphics(Jam)4.17
#141Fun(Jam)3.43
#1314Coolness49%

Comments

cirolve says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:30am

That was funny! The voices were strange at first, but I really got into it, and it was a great indicator for how many lives you have left. Clever concept, fun!

Exeneva says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:32am

Very innovative in its combination of themes, but I'm not quite sure I found it fun after the first two minutes.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Very very original, I cant stop laughing with the voices and the action when I fail. When the other keys (JKL) come, the difficult grown exponencially... nice job!!

ninjascript says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Hilarious moles! Great song, does a lot to raise awareness.

ComicSans says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Aw, so depressing at the end!

ahmeni says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Very nice!

Robber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:58pm

touching game!~.
the 'k' got me :(

TheGrieve says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Noble, funny, hard (I'm not a touch typer) and compelling, I had to finish it despite failing three times.

Nezzhil says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:00pm

hahahahahaha, not, seriusly, hahahahahah clever and funny, good job

barryrowe says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:41am

Very nice. Concept is good, implementation is good, art is good, and the voices are fitting. Well done!

TomCooper3D says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:04am

i really like how the voices fall off one by one and it fits with the theme of the lyrics (which are really awesome) is that a real chant from like a chain gang or farm workers? or did you write that? anyways im not the best at typing so i couldnt get past the addition of "jkl" but i love the concept and art and audio great job all round!

XenosNS says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:46am

Nice! Enjoyed the song. Wasn't too hard but hard enough to keep you on your toes.

May 4, 2014 @ 12:47am

Amazing and SO atmospheric. Fantastic , thank you for this!

matt_j says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:26am

lol.

cirpig29 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 3:16pm

I needed some time to get the rules of it (tried at first clicking with the mouse, using arrow-keys and other things). But ist is a nice submission of this Lure. I enjoyed it.

Pierrec says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Nice one! (But confusing at first with an european keyboard ^^)

Moosefly says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Somewhat simple, but I did like you mixing up the colors and adding new keys (was playing with one hand until that point, panicced somewhat :D).

Graphics and audio were both decent, and I did like the ending.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]