Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Day After

by caryoscelus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UPDATE: post-compo version uploaded. Spelling mostly fixed. You may safely play that one if you keep in mind that the second soundtrack was done after the compo.

My first solo LD project. Also first game finished alone.

It's a really short (what do you expect from LD?) visual novel with very small amount of art (and backgrounds are placeholders). But enough critics, just play it for yourself!

If you'll be wondering how it's related to the theme, make sure to finish it first!

Running should be trivial on any desktop platform thanks to Ren'Py.

PS: if you're tired of listening to single dummy track, just turn it off in preferences..

TIP: if you want to see different endings (or different branches, whatever), you can use skipping feature of renpy: holding ctrl skips through text you've read. There is also rollback by pgup/pgdown and mouse wheel. The rest should be obvious..

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#257Humor2.97
#514Mood3.03
#559Audio2.78
#671Graphics2.98
#700Fun2.86
#745Overall2.98
#904Theme2.81
#984Innovation2.48

Comments

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:06am

It's a long game!

I got the bed ending.

Great music. Made it seem quite surreal.

The player should definitely break up with Christy though, that girl is t.r.o.u.b.l.e.

nexust says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:06am

I really enjoyed this. The plot was genuinely very enjoyable. I expected a dating sim at the beginning so I found myself overjoyed when the plot took a dark turn. The humour will definitely be appreciated by fellow LD developers. I got the normal ending and I intend to go back and find more later.

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Nice graphics and music. And a good shock of a twist.

But the prose was at times weak, with grammatical and spelling errors.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Five endings? I kind of like the one that I reached.

CDK says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:56pm

This was actually quite good - some misspellings but what ever, i would have made the same error if i made a story based game ^^ genuinely enjoyed playing it to the end - i got the "true" ending.. what ever that means ^^

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Fun little story - I got the most normal ending, it seems. With a little more time and polish this could be really good!

caryoscelus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:57pm

Thanks for comments!
Spelling - yeah, shame on me, haven't checked before publishing. Updated now in post-compo version.

Note that if you want to see different endings (or different branches, whatever), you can use skipping feature of renpy: holding ctrl skips through text you've read.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:55am

Got Bed, Blood and True end. Too lazy to playing it again for searching the remaining two endings. The story has a good potential. I hope you keep continue developing this. :)

bob_fish says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:07pm

This was awesome. The humour was good. The story was great and the ability to skip text to get to the endings fast is very nice. Also gamepad support is pretty cool! Thanks for making this!

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Good plot, i like the multiple choice. In my opinion, maybe you should try to change the visual novel feel abit. as in add more gameplay elements to the game somehow. I dunno how but let your imagination decide :D

skymen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:57pm

I don't really like visual novels, but the graphics are quite good. I also liked the music

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:54am

You know, I got four out of five endings (True, Normal, Bloody, Bed) and I have to say that none of them explained how Jack's dream is supposed to make sense. I had a hard time understanding how the narrative structure fit together... there were too many pieces that didn't fit with the main plot, and I had little sense of agency or involvement with proceedings. What does the shooting range guy have to do with anything? And so on, and so forth.

I appreciated that you diverged from the standard VN plots--that's great. The concept is solid. Still, I think that some more focus on how you're going to tell your story would help you out.

caryoscelus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:04am

VictoryGarden, yeah, there are many parts that weren't worked enough and which are thus look completely unrelated. I'll be working on this when i get back to text editing (right now more busy with gfx stuff).

As for dream making sense - i'm afraid there can't be proper explanation of that unless lots of mystics involved.

caryoscelus says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Well, actually i'm gonna make it all have rational explanation ^_^

pvwradtke says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:18am

Another visual novel, it's quite interesting to see that this is a genre that's picking up in Ludum Dare. Liked the plot twits, would love to see it with improved visuals.

Neonian says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:20am

I love it!

trueyomic says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:08pm

I got the true ending in the first try! Pretty neat story! I'll checked all of the other endings and the true was definitely the most satisfying. I always love games with multiple endings. Good job!

GrooveMan says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:27pm

While I know it's hard to make graphical assets on your own, good writing can make up for that. Sadly you didn't really manage that here.

There were so many spelling errors it stopped me from getting into the story (and some parts just didn't make sense as a result).

While proofreading is boring, it'll make or break anything story-heavy.

caryoscelus says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:30pm

GrooveMan, are there really still that many errors in post-compo version?

Anyway, i'll proofread after finishing extending and rewriting.

GrooveMan says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:17am

Ah, I should have been clear - I've only looked at your contest entry. It feels like it'd be unfair to pass judgement using something made afterwards.

I do appreciate that the post-compo entry would have been proofread, but considering the genre you're working in, I'd argue that a refined script is important enough to have on the first iteration - just as key as good jumping physics would be to a platformer.

Refinement eats up time, yes, but I would enjoy a short or linear VN with pitch perfect writing infinitely more to one with increased content, but roughly-written.

caryoscelus says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:37am

Well, rules allow fixing typos and i wasn't doing more than that in terms of spelling in that post-compo version uploaded.

Anyway, i don't really worry about LD judgement at this point. I learned from it to do better next time, but more importantly i have something to work on now.
So i'm more interested in people wanting to play final version than having high rating per se.

udo says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Bed! I liked the minimal graphics, even if you say they're just placeholders it's part of the charm.

May 18, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Nice plot twist! The story was short, but it was so interesting that I played the game until I made all 5 endings. Great work! =)

The "true ending" looks kinda like a "sequel hook", in my opinion... I would like to see a continuation of the story! ^^

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]