Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Moon Mole Massacre

by jcvsmc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Malicious Moon Moles maraud the mainland!

You must massacre the menace!

Hit the moles with your mouse and see how many points you can get!

NOTE: You don't have to click! Just touch the moles with your mouse cursor :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#472Audio2.89
#503Humor2.50
#558Fun3.00
#767Graphics2.83
#931Mood2.56
#956Theme2.71
#1056Overall2.64
#1194Innovation2.03

Comments

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:54pm

Classic but cool.
It will be nice on tablet computer ++

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:29pm

i'm glad i don't live on the moon, those moles would ruin my lawn! nice game. simple, but addictive. nice popping sound, and errie moon music.

Zazibar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Would work well with touchscreen controls.

thomz12 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Graphics look cool, and gameplay is addictive. It gets very hard after a few round, good job!

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Love the music, love the all white room look. I think if you added a hazard, or some secondary objective, this game would feel a lot 'fuller' but overall great job!

Logun says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Funny music. I think clicking could be funnier, with slowest mole ...
I achieved level 12 :)

Airwaffle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Fun game! An effect when hitting the mole instead of it just disappearing would be preferable. I won pretty much by just spamming the screen, so more and harder levels would also be nice.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:36pm

Surprisingly addictive. I love all the different vibrant colored moles that appear. Great job!

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Not enough content, it gets very repetitive very quickly.
It runs smoothly however, and the music is alright.

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46pm

I really like it! Cool concept!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:48pm

A little hammer would improve this game, but otherwise very well done.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Nice idea, well executed, good fun! Kept me amused for a good while :)

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Can't play this, Unity webplayer is not available for Linux OS. Feel free to send me a tweet @tinyworlds if you export a Linux executable and I'll play your game.

shubshub says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:05pm

It was an Alright game but not much in the Form of Graphics However the audio was nice and the theme is used well :)

Gameplay Video: http://youtu.be/9ly_25S_DjU [Check it in about 15 Minutes it should be Uploaded then!]

Nition says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:06pm

I like that you only have to mouse over the moles, and don't have to click. Makes it less about frantic clicking and more about smooth movements - although it's maybe a little *too* easy this way.

bentog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Simple, yet fun. What this really needs is more gameplay to be a full game. The aesthetic is really good! Good job!

davidc02 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Great game. Quite innovative and fun. It needs better music. Children should love this.

shadow64 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Hey, jcvsmc! Thanks for playing and commenting. I played Moon Mole Massacre and I had fun. I actually felt like the song was pretty catchy. :)

I found a bug (er...I mean feature!) where you can hold down the most button and just run the mouse across the screen.

I'd also recommend maybe a bash-y sound effect for when you hit them. The pop sound feels a little off.

It's still fun though! Thanks for making it and congrats!

BigGiantHead says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Really fun game. It would be better if played it on a tablet. :)

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Punching colored digletts cannot be wrong! good job!

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Why would I hit mole?

Marcellus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:46pm

Fun and addictive, music isn't boring. My arm hurts now.
http://prntscr.com/3ekj7x
this is how far I could get. Good entry.

kbm says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:48pm

sweet music, punching diglets, very nice! well done!

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:53pm

well made. music loop could be longer, after a few levels it feels pretty repetitive. Also, a few graphics/art pieces to give it the "moon mole" vibe would be good.

also, i found that just swiping back and forth in the center of the screen pretty much did the job, didn't have to move the mouse around that much.

good job!

Lars Faust says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:52pm

Made it to Level 32. Score 527.

I think a few less moles and a bit more clicking wouldve helped the gameplay. This wouldve been a very good entry for LD27 where the theme was "10 seconds".

Hamsternator says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Nice spin on the classic "whack a mole" =)
Could probably use something to make the background more interesting.

Btw, 741 points =D

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:35pm

104! Also extra points for extreme alliteration in the description ;-p

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:05pm

nice entry ..i liked the music :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:41am

Simple but nice entry! I included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 29 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/pi2GfgHfAZM

Gins says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Probably the cutest take on Whack-A-Mole I have ever seen ^-^
It's like bubble wrap :3:3:3
Loved the music.

Gabriel1975 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:29am

Nice Job!

Teesquared says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 8:40am

Overall best use of a capsule. The over the top violence is offset by the bubble popping sounds.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]