Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Castle Engineer

by KayZ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Did you ever wonder who pulls the strings when you visit a castle to free the princess or to loot the treasures?

Beneath the surface, there are a lot of castle engineers who keep the traps and everything running. You are just one of them.

But... today you are the only one! Can you satisfy the demon lord and keep the traps active to prevent the heroes from looting the treasure?
====================
Game written in Dart
Graphics created with Krita
Sounds created with my mouth and a mic

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#92Humor3.55
#143Innovation3.73
#194Theme3.68
#358Fun3.27
#508Overall3.22
#592Audio2.70
#702Mood2.84
#925Graphics2.59

Comments

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:52am

36! I like the green sonic. I think the difficulty could ramp up a bit quicker in the beginning as it can be pretty repetitive at first, but once it starts getting fast it gets funner.

KayZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:06am

Thanks for the feedback. You are right, it can take a while until more heroes enter the castle. I'm going to do a post compo version and will change this.

But image how repetitive the work is, when all castle engineers are at work. Every one, just standing in front of his or her own button. Waiting for the light to go off, just to press the button again. Just to wait again... Those poor bastards.

allurious says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:43am

Hilarious idea! It's a bit slow at first but then gets pretty engaging. I love that each 'hero' has their own effect on hit (like 'Sonic' losing his rings) and the sound effects are adorably hilarious.

Zolkren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:10pm

Nice game.

tayl1r says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Nice work. Could benefit from "more" but that's often the case with game jams.

AgeNt_ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Had fun killing all sorts of heroes. Got a bit stale after a few minutes but it was still fun to kill things!

okkolobr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:19pm

33 ! Love the idea. Are the sound "mouth made" ? The whole thing is hilariously good : Great job !

KayZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Yes, every sound in this game is "mouth made" :D

guardiancs says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:34pm

I really liked the idea <3

Elforama says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Awesome interpretation of the theme. Loved it.

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Nice little Sonic reference. And i love the sounds... Just saying. :P

Gaming_Ray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:37pm

I love the "Sonic" that loses his rings. SFX are pretty funny too. Cool little game. Good job.

killthealias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Incredibly clever! I was quite surprised and really enjoyed the game!

Foofur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Indeed the exact opposite of what I made! :P Love the idea, and the game heroes are really funny :) Well done!

soy_yuma says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:46pm

I love it! I like the sounds (I use the same instrument to make mine ;-)) and the graphics. I think the difficulty raises too slow at the beginning at too fast at the end. Good job!

Cawrtz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:52pm

The songs are hilarious as well as the game mechanics ! Awesome game :D

Covenant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Very nice, the twist on the concept works... a bit boring after a bit, but it was fun while it lasted!

DrMelon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:55pm

Nice idea! Reminded me a little of Deathrun!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Brillant sound effects ;)

Controls were a bit too "slippery" (increase the drag!), and the game was too easy at first.

Very cool idea however, fun interpretation of the theme.

ioboi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:42pm

I like the idea and the buildup of the challenge :)

Mase says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:01pm

I "only killed 39 heroes." This was a bit repetitive but the idea is great. It would be nice if there was some variation in the invaders' movements. Nice sounds.

DarkEngineer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Nice concept!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Cool mechanics,very different and fun to play.. but I found it very hard.. :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:00am

Really sweet use of theme, well done! I included it in part 2 of my LD29 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :)
http://youtu.be/JHNjbQTDBuQ

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:08pm

This is a really good idea, with some more work put in it I think it would be a successful game

MunkeeBacon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:52pm

This is a very clever game idea. I really enjoy the idea of the "behind the scenes" bad guy who tries to get at the heroes. Great job with that. Other wise, the game seems a little bit repetitive and it seems as though once you've gotten a bit used to the game you can run around pressing random buttons and still win.

phi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:55pm

It's nice playing the traps that otherwise frustrate me. The difficulty curve could be adjusted a little bit, but otherwise, it's already a fun game. After a while I didn't even bother using the first four traps anymore because I couldn't get over there in time, so they became kind of useless. Also, the graphics are a bit too silly for my taste, but for 48 hours, it's a great accomplishment overall. :D

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:40pm

The characters remembers me to mario, poor marios :/ *sniff*, pretty funny XD, well done ;)

Snoother says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:46pm

Inventive use of theme, and has changed my perspective on such platforming games: I'll always be picturing this peculiar little man beneath it all.

Larzan says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Haha, great idea, love it, and fun to play

May 7, 2014 @ 12:30am

Very innovative approach to the theme. The engineer's movement could have been a quicker, since the challenge mostly seems to be timing the traps just right. Other than that, this was a fun entry to play, expanding on this would make a great game.

romandtom says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:20pm

Cool game, nice idea :P

rincewind_cz says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:38am

Nice idea, but actual gameplay is bit too repetitive/flat - maybe some different paths for enemies or multiple enemies at same time would made it more enjoyable.. :)

May 17, 2014 @ 8:30am

This is a very funny game! xD

Nice concept! Now I will see with different eyes the evil castles and dungeons that exist in many games, hahaha!

If the game had more levels, with different types of traps and heroes in them, it would be AWESOME!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]