Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

WOOD BIRD EGG DIG

by voxel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Cursor keys and space. Instructions in-game.

I abandoned my original game 75% of the way through LD29 so adjust your expectations accordingly.

Music missing, sounds are basic, but gameplay is in. Go peck some wood.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#100Fun3.71
#144Overall3.69
#178Innovation3.66
#257Humor2.97
#368Graphics3.45
#514Mood3.03
#602Audio2.67
#979Theme2.66

Comments

voxel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:14am

Windoze port tomorrow

Shire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:40am

I got 300! This game was a pleasure, great puzzle game.

TowelKing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:42am

Very clean graphic style and the woodpecker pecking animation is fantastic. I enjoyed weaving my way through the level and having to plan ahead.

schnüt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:02am

This is a game for pro-peckers. Hitting every block of wood you see? Bam- you're stuck in a tree and can't fly away. That's the wrong way. Peck with thought!
I love it. The bird looks silly, the blocks are self-explanatory and I like puzzle games. I just ran into a real dead end one or two times (no way to pass down, unpeckable blocks all the way through the tree) or else I might still be playing. :D

cageinabird says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29pm

I like the concept - it's very intuitive - and the woodpecker looks great. Shame there isn't more to it.

Lucio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:32pm

this is fun! the pieces positions are random? sometimes I found myself in impossible situations! :)

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Really cool idea, and well executed. Slightly boring after a while, but adding in change over time would really help that. Keep up the good work!

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:18am

It made me think. I like that.

Therrato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:17pm

Nice little game, i would recommend to not keep switching between to images with text, it would be easier to read if it was click to proceed to the next text.

ruerob says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:24am

Nice little game. Will there be a polished version some day? Thank you for this entry. I enjoyed playing.

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:32am

I needed a playthrough to understand how wood blocks worked, but when I did it became pretty enjoyable!
Great graphics and animations, audio really fits in it!
It made me stop several times to think of my next move, so great job!

j_peeba says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:51am

Great puzzle mechanics! I enjoyed the game a lot. The lack of development time doesn't really show in the game either since the minimal aesthetics suit the game well.

Jeffalisk says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:53am

Really enjoyed this, it's got potential.

I liked the main mechanic, it made for a nice challenge. Would make a great mobile puzzle with a bit more work.

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:59am

Nice puzzle game, and nice pecker graphics. :-)
First time I played I needed to figure out what I was supposed to be doing, but then everything worked really well.
Also the game is really polished for just 12 hours of work.

callidus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:20pm

nice little puzzle game :-) I like the bird animation.

alect says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:20pm

I liked this one. The audio worked well for what was there.

copain says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:27pm

best puzzle game tested! graphics are nice and very clear to understand the gameplay.
Cool rogue-like-puzzle-game.

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Crisp, clean and fun, great job!

urisensei says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Really interesting gameplay! Congrats!!

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:08pm

224 was my best score :)

Awesome game, I really like the puzzle mechanics. The graphics were nice too. The only things I didn't like were: the fall speed was a little slow, and it would have been nice to have some music. I had lots of fun, though. Good job :)

MarsBar says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:40am

Awesome game :) I like the style a lot, nice art, great sound, a whole lot of addiction :)

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:49am

Excellent game, you're in my top 5, I'll try to finish it later.

alvarop says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Really elegant design. I'm impressed!

Penguincat says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:19am

This was pretty fun! It's a cleverly designed little puzzle game, and pretty addictive. Though I couldn't stand to play it for too long because the sound effects were really annoying. But overall it was much better than I expected going into it, nice job!

udo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 11:22am

I'm in the same boat as you - started on something completely and then abandoned it as I realized it wasn't going to work out. Congrats for not giving up and delivering something impressive given the time constraints, and a compo entry no less!

rojo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Loved the simple puzzle mechanics. Overall the game is pretty impressive for a 25% time commitment. The graphics looked nice and the sound was decent as well.

ActionRemix says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 11:56am

394 - WR! ;)

This game makes a lot of sense - pecking along the grain, etc

NeiloGD says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Nice little puzzly game! Even for bfxr sounds, they be pretty good.

Eniko says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Took me a couple seconds to figure out you can only go with the wood grain. Very cool little puzzle mechanic, that. Pretty sweet game for something you pulled together in the last few hours. Does it go on forever?

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]