Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Interstellar Customs Inspector

by Kwrky - Jam Entry

You play as a customs agent welcoming alien visitors and returning humans to Earth! Make sure none of the people/aliens/things coming through are carrying anything illegal like weapons, drugs, or Snakepeople Porno...

Made by Kwrky, Kenji Shimojima
Music by DST http://www.nosoapradio.us
Extensive use and abuse made of Oryx 16 bit Fantasy Tile Set

HOW TO PLAY
===========
Overview of game

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vj81VzxeAoM&feature=youtu.be

Passengers present you with their luggage.
Click through and move each item to find what they are hiding.
If you are not sure if something's illegal, you can SEND it off for testing, but only one item can be sent at any one time, and it takes a while for the results to come back.
If you want to take a risk, you can TEST it yourself. The screen will shake if it's no good.
Finally, DESTROY items that are illegal. Once a passenger has no more illegal goods you can PASS them.

When the red bar gets to zero, your shift/life/tolerance for Alien narcotics is over...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#34Humor(Jam)3.86
#116Audio(Jam)3.69
#242Innovation(Jam)3.30
#368Overall(Jam)3.21
#388Fun(Jam)2.97
#397Graphics(Jam)3.33
#416Theme(Jam)3.06
#427Mood(Jam)2.97

Comments

Gaeel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:22pm

It really isn't clear what is illegal and what isn't.

Maybe start players out with small luggage containing only one or two things, and move onto dustbowls laters.

Druid says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:04am

Too easy, you need just one thing... Think like alien! :D

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:28am

Took me a while to figure out how i should interpret the feedback when you 'send' or 'test' items, but aside from that: nice game!

mir007 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:36am

I think the premise is very good, but gameplay is a bit unclear. Plusses for the music!

sirdorius says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Hahah this is so much MIB XD
I loved the music, the humour and the idea!
Very simple yet nice, good job!
Only note, I guess you could make it more stupid-proof with more visual effects for the interaction (:

Boodog says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:23pm

Awesome! Good work! :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:26pm

Interesting game, great work:)

Mandlebar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:27pm

Interesting concept, Had fun playing though was not very good at it. Was also rather funny!

Kwrky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Thanks all for the comments! and also the feedback about the effects.

mrhill says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:47pm

A little papers please. I had a good time playing this, well done!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:00pm

I think the game need some definition on what's legal and what's not before starting the game. Or at least some tutorials :v

dj_pale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Nice idea and music. Missing difficulty scaling, first items are quite hard. Maybe ease off the time penalties for the first x items?

MSaul says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Cool interpretation of under the surface. Great game and music. But yeah hard to tell what is legal or not.

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:30pm

This is awesome, Being a customs inspector is already a cool concept but an interstellar one was a great twist. Though finding the right items get frustrating haha XD

Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Love this use of theme. Very awesome game. I included it in part 4 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/as-BlCZWXm0

tenpn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Cute papers please idea, although the music, while good, is far too jolly for such a depressing job. More feedback to the user would make this game clearer. Very amusing though, good link to the theme.

hanoth says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:00am

I like the idea, but I don't quite get how you are supposed to know what's illegal.

wschorn says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:06pm

wow I should never be a customs agent. empathy 10/10

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]