Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Substep

by Ysty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Legend says that beneath the surface of Oroborous C, the hollow world, is another planet. Below that planet is another, and another, and below them all. Below them all is a source of untold wealth and power.

Substep is a roguelike shooter played best with a game controller (in fact a controller is almost mandatory). Fight hard enemies, get coin to buy new weapons and ship upgrades, and use your drill-ship to dig as deep as you can into the planet without dying.

The controls are fairly simple:

Arrows/WASD or the Left Analogue Stick to move (movement uses space physics - the trick is to not hold the analogue stick down all the time)

Space Bar or RB to fire your weapon.

When your fuel gauge is over 100%, crash the ship into the planet to dig through to the next level.

Collect coins to spend on new weapons (might I suggest the scatter shot), ship upgrades and repairs.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#723Audio2.44
#758Humor2.17
#817Graphics2.76
#871Mood2.64
#894Theme2.83
#895Overall2.83
#923Fun2.59
#956Innovation2.53

Comments

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:19am

This game is pretty hard and I personally hate the 'space' physics (in Mario I love them but this is not relevant here).

CustomPhase says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:26am

I dont really like the controls in this. And theme presence is kinda subtle. Why are you constantly diggind down, and why are there empty space between layers? And visuals i find kinda "strainy", made my eyes hurt a bit.

tayl1r says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:50am

Pretty cool. It's a bit tricky at first but it's fine once you get the hang of things.

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:19pm

I like the contrast feel. Fun game, but wish I could rotate in other than 90 degree turns.

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:44pm

The game went unresponsive a couple times (stuck in an animation...) I personally do like the space controls, they're floaty but fun. Nice sound effects too. ;)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:31pm

loved the audio, i really brought the enemies to life.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Liked the idea, and wanted to play more, but I got frustrated with the controls (on keyboard) and eventually gave up.

bzizizi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Medal for audio.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:36pm

The movement is really weird. Not bad. Weird. That makes the game quite unique. Fits well with dubstep (i tried)

Ditto says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Digging looks really cool! Controls are super weird it felt like the ship didn't react to my input half of the time >_>

sprawl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:39pm

The controls are tricky, but once you get used to it its fine. Made it to level 3, hard as ball.

I would recommend putting tome background because when there's nothing on screen it's tricky to know if where's you're going.

Good job.

SethR says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:41pm

very cool, especially when I got far enough to use the shop! I agree with the others, full 360 asteroids style rotation would feel more natural...

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:44pm

I like the effects and level switching! The ship's a little hard to control. :)

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Interesting

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:38am

I'll echo what other people are saying: turning at other angles than 90 degrees would improve the game tremendously.
Also, this is a minor gripe, but the text in the top-left corner is white, and so vanishes when you're burrowing through the white planet. If the letters were outlined in black or red it would be easier to read.

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:20am

really hard to control.

hexagore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Difficult in a good way. Love the sound effects too :)

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:37pm

I liked the retro style. The controls were hard to master. I liked the digging thing as a way to advance to the next level, and the game felt polished. I loved the fact that you could buy upgrades. I would've loved more free control of the ship, but apart from that, you made a solid game.

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:28pm

I like the digging mechanic and the weapons, but the controls made no sense to me. I could rarely get the ship going in the direction I wanted it to. The minimal graphics were nice. Good job :)

icereci says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:56am

mechanics was hard to get used to, but liked the explosions and the concept. gj

csanyk says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:26am

Kinda good, but when I got to the shop at level 2, I couldn't buy anything because I was too busy dying.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]