Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Exo-Aquatic

by deathray - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Exo-Aquatic you take control of a deep-diving expedition on another world, with the goal of collecting scientific discoveries.

How to Play:
(1) Dive --> (2) Scan and collect Data from the ocean --> (3) Analyze data to get scientific Discoveries --> (4) Transmit the discoveries to HQ --> (5) Earn credits with the Terran Ocean Science Exploration Committee --> (6) Earn enough credits to take command of the starship and leave the planet.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#235Theme3.63
#269Graphics3.63
#487Innovation3.15
#603Overall3.14
#765Mood2.76
#955Fun2.54
#1022Humor1.67

Comments

deathray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:08am

Still working on fixing a game-breaking bug with the transmitting...

deathray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:29am

Ok, game should be playable now! Code changes can be tracked on GitHub for those who are interested. (GitHub repo may eventually include post-compo changes too.)

Thein says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:21am

I really like the idea. Unfortunately, it runs really slow on my computer. Otherwise, I would've totally played until I unlocked everything!

microapple says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:39am

Fun administration game! Not sure if my browser was just running slow but the subs were moving unbearably slowly...

Colorvade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:49am

All the stats and icons made the game look intimidating at first, but what's past that is simple and relaxing. There wasn't much to it, but it has the feel of an idle game with less idle and more input.

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:18am

Amazing graphics, but painfully slow in my browser

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:20am

I agree with Colorvade completely. Very relaxing!

deathray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:37am

Thanks for the feedback! The slowness was supposed the be intentional, forcing you to get an upgrade to increase speed, but you're right - it puts too much of a damper on the game early on. Unrelated Pro Hint: One of the in-game hints in a lie (unintentionally).

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:30am

Nice game!

clearlyspam23 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:06am

Good concept. A little too slow for me though.

johnhackworth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Very nice

JALgames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:17pm

I like the idea, but the page requires me to scroll. That's not good style. If you could condense the interface to match one page, that would be awesome. The game also lages terribly both im Firefox and Chrome.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:10am

Cool concept, but a little slow-paced for my blood.

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:03pm

I just love the concept! Ran terribly slow on Chrome, but on Firefox it was normal. I managed to survive with -600 o2 ;) And the Antenate I didn't increase my range. It is slow paced and I didn't have the patience to finish it - but it got me hooked up and I spent far more time on it than I should :D I love this kind of games and this has some real potential! Only needs some obstacles and more danger while diving :)

micdoodle8 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:10am

Great concept, I like the art as well. Well done!

wheelsx says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:52am

Good game! Good looking art. Love the concept. Good work!

Ithildin says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Great idea! The concept is nice (P.Zissou? Great reference :D), but it feels a bit slow for my taste.

Congrats!

May 3, 2014 @ 12:02am

i like the mechanics but the game starts out too slow imo. has a lot of potential tho :)

Stuffie says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Nice looking game, but as others have said it seemed really slow to me.

Oye Beto says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:29am

I like the general idea and the clean graphic design but descending and getting credits is very slow, if the whole game peace were a little faster I think it would be more fun.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]