Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Diamond Diggers

by chocobyte - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A SPLIT SCREEN GAME, PLAY IT TOGETHER WITH AND AGAINST YOUR FRIENDS!


The mole brothers get glints in their eyes when they hear about diamonds. A game about making money the easy way and not losing sight of your competitor. Your goal is to collect more diamonds than your opponent within two Minutes!

Dig your way through the cave (Left Player: WASD, Right Player: ARROW-KEYS) to find treasures. Jump to reach higher positions - if you are in the air, you can try to climb the wall (Press and hold UP again). But remember, climbing is cumbersome and there's no time to spare. You ate dynamite again by accident - although you actually dislike dynamite: Why not pass it to your opponent by touching him or just wiggle arround fast enough to drop it. Be careful though, because an explosion can be really stunning! You can take a little rest during the action (Press Escape) and choose another cave system. Enough said, battle yourself with your friends for those thousand of diamonds beneath the surface!


Controls: WASD (left Player), ARROW-KEYS (right Player)
Press ESC ingame to get more Tips on Gameplay.


Build within 48 hours with FlashDevelop & FlashPunk, MS Paint, Adobe Photoshop, Sfxr, Audacity


Bugfixes:
2014-05-02 Version 1.01
- Removed a bug where the player could destroy strong tiles very fast by attacking multiple directions at the same time
- Changed the finding of the next to be attacked block to improve collision
- Diamonds which where unreachable do not longer spawn within the stoneborder
- Fixed a timer bug that the roundtime was very short which appeared after a round restart

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#395Humor2.68
#401Fun3.20
#671Graphics2.98
#676Theme3.13
#693Overall3.05
#697Mood2.85
#805Innovation2.72
#811Audio2.24

Comments

anbreizh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:51am

Nice, but the collision boxes are a bit off, it's difficult to navigate. Also the jump/digup system need a rework I think

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:58am

really enjoyed it, reminded me of the good times I had in Terraria/Starbound. good job!

eastes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:59am

Love it. Well done!

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:06am

Nice game :D
Collisions didnt work good sometimes but its really fun to play ^^

mortus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:10am

Awwww, it's so cute. Strange collisions aside, it's a great game. Gotta find someone to play it with.

My game also supports 2 player mode by the way.

madflame991 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:11am

Nice take on the theme; I appreciate that it's a two-player game and mice chasing each other is always fun. The jumping/climbing seemed a bit off though.

markusfisch says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:16pm

That's more fun than I had thought! Very well done!

pighead10 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Bit clumsy controls but fun to play with friends (/brothers).

jeffz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:25pm

Cutest game yet. Well done!

sorceress says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:50pm

not bad :) But as others have said above, the collision detection is not quite right. And I take it I'm not supposed to be able to break the grey bedrock around the perimeter? (which can be broken by jumping at it)

chocobyte says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:25am

Thank you for your feedback, I appreciate it. I fixed those bugs you mentioned (see description for details).

Catman says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:48pm

This is nice, reminds me of the game Suppaplex I used to play when I was little on my Amiga! Fun to play. :)

bentog says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Great game, just had trouble with climbing up, most of the times the rat would just jump. Not sure how to climb up and not jump. Pretty cool!

burgerdare says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:56pm

the dynamite mechanic doesn't really make a ton of sense, which is a shame since I think that would have really added a nice layer of direct interaction between players.

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Nice game :)

Cawrtz says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:50pm

This game is very funny and simple to play. Graphics are pretty nice, but it's only possible to play with 2 players and an AI would've been nice.
Good job !

dector says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:13pm

Cool idea. But needs someone else to play with. :)

May 4, 2014 @ 11:42pm

Nice co-op

darke_shard says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 9:52am

I have to give credit to this game - it's the first one I've seen in LD29 that allows for 2P competitive gameplay. :)

May 12, 2014 @ 1:56am

Cool game!! I included it in part 25 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/06U_lc3kLp4

May 16, 2014 @ 10:52am

Fun with friends! I'd love to see it with some AI too

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]