Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Magic Age

by dark_hunter - Jam Entry

Play as Ardis as he stops an world-sized threat from beneath the surface.

Use WASD SPACE and ESC as controls.

If you can't run the game, install XNA 4.0 runtime (included in the archive)
For any info about the resources, check out the Credits

Typos has been fixed! Thanks dalbinblue for the tips.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#195Fun(Jam)3.29
#262Graphics(Jam)3.66
#273Overall(Jam)3.36
#321Mood(Jam)3.14
#361Audio(Jam)3.10
#377Humor(Jam)2.55
#549Theme(Jam)2.77
#577Innovation(Jam)2.58

Comments

Solifuge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:58am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

I was looking forward to this since RPGs are my favorite genre, but it crashed on opening...

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:20am

this is really good. i like the battle system, and i like the story. (obviously the gfx and music are good too) It was cool how the one chick had the bravely default style.

good job

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:49am

Awesome! I love RPGs :D Though, there wasn't any character customization there, was it? (Just making sure I didn't miss anything). Anyways, the combat system is really cool. I love the way the battles start naturally without transition, and also the way the 4 attacks are mapped to the arrow keys (though, when you get your 2nd skill, it's initially confusing how to access the two skills).

I felt that the game could definitely use some polish in the dialogue. The story experience is ruined a bit by all the typos in the text. I also felt like the game could use a little bit of visual or audio feedback when you level up, since I didn't even notice I was leveling up for a while. The pixel art, though, is absolutely outstanding and the game looks great!

Doccrazy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:33am

I am getting a crash when clicking start:

An unhandled exception of type 'System.InvalidOperationException' occurred in Microsoft.Xna.Framework.dll
Additional information: Song playback failed
> Microsoft.Xna.Framework.dll!Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Media.MediaQueue.Play(Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Media.Song song) + 0x9b bytes
MagicAge.exe!MagicAge.Engine.MusicManager.Play(string name, bool repeat = true) + 0x3f bytes
MagicAge.exe!MagicAge.GameData.Screens.BeginScreen.Initialize(System.IServiceProvider serviceProvider) + 0x1a bytes

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:35am

I'm impressed you managed to put all this in one week-end. Graphics were really cheap, and the music could have change in combat mode, but it was a great experiment.

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:54am

liked the character portraits!

felt like it didn't really matter which attack i used, especially since you fully heal after battles

think it would look a lot better if you didn't mix 3 different pixel sizes!

Norse Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:07am

I liked the idea of the game and the graphics were AMAZING! It could use some sound effects, and making it a bit more challenging couldn't do it any harm. Overall great game, good luck!

robodylan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:38am

The was a critical and fatal error on startup, sorry

Kragnir says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:40am

The fact that you managed to make an actual rpg is very impressive. Lots of good things in this game. The skill menu was a bit confusing before you got all skills and you could see how it was intended to work. Nice story and graphics, some battle music would have been nice.

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:42am

This was an awsome game, the only thing wrong with this was the typo's, Loved everything about it, great entry

bob_fish says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:15pm

This was pretty amazing for only 3 days work :D I experienced no crashing. Good Job
Ps. Not sure if the "29th" was intended because it's LD29 but if it was that was smart ;)

teambrookvale says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:55am

Graphics are pro level. Very nicely done

TomCooper3D says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:39pm

holy! such nice sprites cool game too. gj for 3 days work

dalbinblue says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Very impressive that you implemented an RPG like game in three days. The battle system was interesting, though a few of the abilities seemed kind of useless if you did the math versus normal attacks. I would have liked to have seen a little more variety in the actual levels, as until the last room, there were no branching paths, but that might be a lot of ask for a 72 hour game build.

One thing that did cause a lot of problems was the grammatical issues in the dialog. If you didn't do this before, you probably should have written up the dialog in a word processor that can do spelling an grammar checks. Fixing typos looks to be allowed in the after time corrections (check the rules yourself to be sure), so you may be able to do this cleanup now.

agmcleod says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:08am

Impressive game. Beautiful art & music. I found the dialogue a bit dense at times, a bit too much. Would love to see the combat evolve some more into something more interesting, but overall a really solid effort for such a short time :)

hbocao says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:56am

Very nice to see a RPG game here. Good work!

SnoringFrog says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 6:26am

Nice little RPG. I liked the combat style, it was neat not having to deal with any sort of transition into the fight. You could see the enemies ahead of time, and when you approached them the fight just instantly started.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]