Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cases

by kacperski1 - Jam Entry

Few weeks ago, in the town of Coleford a person was brutally murdered by an unknown perpetrator.

The body was found on the nearby dump.

The local police station has suspended the case because of no evidence found.

The best local detective, Philip Spencer, was called by family of the victim.

Now he has to go beneath the surface of this case to discover the secrets of the person's death.

Note:
Every time the game is started, it will generate an entirely different case for you to solve.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#98Fun(Jam)3.53
#103Overall(Jam)3.67
#106Audio(Jam)3.71
#138Mood(Jam)3.62
#190Innovation(Jam)3.40
#278Humor(Jam)2.80
#303Graphics(Jam)3.56
#540Theme(Jam)2.79

Comments

VividReality says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Very nice detective game, gave me a challenge! I enjoyed the art and the mood set by the audio. I like that it generates random cases so that you can play it multiple times.

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:02pm

This is one of the best entries I've played so far. I seriously hope this scores well. Really nice job, and solid game!

TeamAlpha says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Really good game, well written and executed. Could have a deeper plot, but it was fun nonetheless. Congratulations!

BuriTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Haha I'm a terrible detective! I got the wrong person twice.. Nice game though.

helekopeter says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:00pm

GREAT GAME!!!

InfectionTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:03pm

At first I thought I was at the PARK CHURCH CEMENTERY BAR PLAZA place lol, took me a while to figure out how to move around

helekopeter says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:14pm

how do you find out what weapon they used

kacperski1 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:20pm

@helekopeter:
Knife is a silent weapon, pistol can be heard and a chainsaw makes people scream. We should include that in the title screen probably.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:37pm

I've played a few games like these before and they are always a nice little brain puzzle.

This one is simplistic, but the only problem per se is the murder weapon. I think it's based on the type of noise and the location, but I don't think a real detective would jump to such conclusions with only hearsay.

I'd like to see a more complex version with figuring out personal relationships and other connections between people as well as some crime scene investigation to fix that murder weapon problem.

Some bugs/tweaks:
-Skipping/FastForwarding dialogue would be ace.
-Resizing the screen, while nicely rescaling the graphics, does break the gui button hitbox offsets.

kacperski1 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:49pm

HuvaaKoodia:
Thanks for the feedback. I've fixed the resizing bug right now by making the window unresizeable and added some information about the murder weapon in the title screen. We'll release a proper fix with working resolution changing soon, also including dialogue skipping.

About other things - we'd really like to add them, but these are more complex and probably will be in a post-compo version :)

small trouble says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:35pm

One of the more unique entries I've seen so far. Interesting match for the theme as well.

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:47pm

A great mystery game! I love how new cases are randomly generated. The way the text was handled was a bit awkward - the gradual text can't be skipped, and the text that you want to keep on screen vanished automatically!

seantheartist says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:55pm

This game was awesome, the art and music gave it great feel. Challenging but easy to play.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Nice game, couldnt figure out what weapon was used though. I also like the music.

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:07pm

very cool brain work out game very funny :)

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:22pm

I love the idea of this game, its really cool that you can be the detective and act like one XD. The downsides of this game would be the lack of buttons to skip certain texts dialogues, since they take a really long time to shift, to me that is. But overall, nice idea :D and its cool that you've made this in 3 days XD

Cirrial says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:11pm

This game made me feel a little smarter for getting it right. Nice approach with the procedurally generated cases. Very nice presentation, although the opening crawl could do with a skip button or something. All around solid effort.

caryoscelus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Just awesome!

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:50pm

Not bad, my biggest complaint is how slow the text shows up. This game would really benefit from the ability to force all of the text to show at once, especially on subsequent playthroughs.

Dreii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:10pm

This was really cool, Nice murder mystery game! I was terrible at it but It was well made.

cheesepencil says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:08am

I loved the kitty

CiderPunk says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Really cool! well done!

...I'm not sure I'd be happy with that local police force :)

pvwradtke says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Quite interesting. Wished I could fast forward the text to make it goes faster.

Ragzouken says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Loved the music! Really well put together, and I managed to guess the right person at the end after writing it all out :) Great entry!

ThingoStudios says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:49pm

This game is GOOD, y'all. There are some flaws, though. Most obviously, the choice of weapon is a crapshoot; I put down chainsaw because I read the comments and heard screaming, but it was a knife.

The locations ribbon was a bit cramped, and you probably could have done something to make it more obvious they were five separate locations.

And there were some typos, too; most notably, if someone's seen two people, they will say "I have seen Casper, Sophie" rather than "I have seen Casper and Sophie."

But this was totally enjoyable and I loved the atmosphere.

elfeck says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Great game! Sadly the inital screen explaining the weapons goes by WAY to fast and I couldnt really read it until the 3rd time :(

kibertoad says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Great polish, cute characters. Fun stuff all around.

May 5, 2014 @ 7:07pm

This was SO interesting! I'm very very impressed. Good job and top marks for innovation!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]