Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cthulus are Beneath the Surface

by Pent - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play in Firefox or Chrome for best results.

The point of the game is to bomb the Cthulu's and achieve the highest score. The game will progress through stages until they overwhelm you by swimming up to the surface.

This game is multiplayer and you may see other players in the game with you.

Good luck!

Downloads and Links




Mincemeat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:47am

Not bad, Cute Cthulus haha, those side ones are a little hard to get though, especially on the left side.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:07am

I can see other players moving and firing, but I do not seem to be able to. I'm using Firefox.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:17am

Ha, an "MMO". Lovely!

NicoM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:19am

Pretty fun:) Neat to play with other players, I also like (took me a while to notice) the dead ships on the ocean floor...
Great job:)

Mekuri says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:20am

I love that there's multiplayer in it :-) And the idea about cute Cthulu's is awesome.

ShivanHunter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:26am

Excellent concept and (as far as I could tell) seamless execution! Bomb firing sounds got a bit repetitive, but not much to do about that.

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:36am

It was awesome when I entered to play without reading that it was multiplayer LOL, nice graphics but a bit boring after some minutes :/

SFBTom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:37am

Great to see some multiplayer, fun too!

loggs2 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:38am

At first I didn't want to hurt the Cthulu because they looked so innocent... I really liked the multiplayer aspect too!

Joseph Miller says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:41am

I really like the clean graphics and how responsive the game feels despite not having many animations.

Boodog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:27am

Cool game! Nice graphics, sounds, and fits well with the theme! Good job!

renatopp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:28am

The first multiplay I see here, and damn, I am really competitive. I've leaded the game for hours (actually, minutes)!

clearlyspam23 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:30am

Pretty fun, the multiplayer took me by surprise. Would have been nice if there were powerups or something. Good job!

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:50pm

I wasn't lucky enough to play it while someone else was also in the game but this could become really fun. maybe you could expand the idea, do some skill trees or something similar.

miwuc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:01pm

The multiplayer is a really neat idea and well executed!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Simple but really well put. I was able to play a bit with somebody and you can truly feel the teamwork!

StudioWolfox says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Nice that you have online multiplayer in the browser! :D nice and simple game :)

pkenney says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:01am

Nice work getting mutliplayer w high scores, though I didn't happen to see someone else playing.

Solid implementation that ran well and had a little of everything, but I felt it was too easy, or maybe too slow. The enemies eventually won by having huge numbers of them but I felt like I had nearly maxed out the killing I could do.

dj_pale says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Missing difficult scaling (diffucult to master in a short game jam). Audio seemed random-generated and a bit repetitive :) Other than that, a decent job. Did not test multiplayer, but impressive if it works!

csanyk says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:22am

Couldn't run it in Chrome for some reason.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]