Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lucy

by Crusable - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Lucy is a 2d top down shooter. You have to survive 5 minutes of demons and then kill the prince of darkness. Can you survive?

EDIT: I made the game a bit harder and changed the menu pages to change on space instead of mouse click since you use the mouse to shoot.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#948Audio1.83
#1098Graphics2.28
#1127Fun2.24
#1142Mood2.16
#1219Overall2.24
#1226Theme1.88
#1236Innovation1.84
#1669Coolness41%

Comments

Crusable says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 4:13pm

I'm really tired and I forgot to post my source. I'm not sure how to edit the post, I'll try when the compo ends. I hope this is sufficient for now : https://github.com/Crusable77/Lucy

Crusable says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:53pm

I have noted some bugs, such as random crashing when you die or win. I will fix that and re-upload the post compo version

CayoDaves says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Maybe it's just me, but it seems your link goes inside your zip, instead of to your zip.

dook says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:02pm

For anyone else confused: Go to File -> Download to get the whole zip.

dook says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:04pm

I honestly got bored before the time was up :/ Monsters would pass through walls, but I'm not sure if they're supposed to. If you add some powerups and different attacks it would make it a lot more fun :) It felt a bit like a simple Gauntlet.

Crusable says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:20am

I am planning on improving it in the comming weeks. And yes, the monsters do go through walls. I wasted a lot of time working on the "engine" of the game instead of the actual game. I guess that is a lesson for next time, make the engine first.

mtinkerhess says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:50am

I killed the prince of darkness! I liked how the monsters dodged out of the way when you hit them.

It would be nice to have automatic firing so you can hold down the mouse button instead of clicking over and over.

tomhunt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:58am

I liked the mouse aiming combined with the WASD movement. The lack of other weapons or enemies, combined with the length of time before the lord of darkness would appear - it felt a bit repetitive after a while, and so when it just ended suddenly (i think i died?) I didn't feel all that inclined to continue. Needs a bit more variety to it. The core feel seems to have something to it, though. Also maybe have some monsters that can't go through walls.

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:49am

The game has not much to it as of now, I also didn't want to wait the 5 minutes until something happens. But I quite liked the feel to the movement/shooting. And also enemies going over walls (but slowing down) is actually an interesting mechanic.

sudorossy says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:15pm

The movement and shooting felt really nice! More types of monsters, and maybe them not walking through walls would have been good.

Salamander3 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:16pm

I really couldn't see the theme in this, sorry. The controls also weren't that friendly to a laptop user. :P But otherwise, classic Gauntlet style gameplay, was fun other than the few large bugs that have already been noted. The UI was a big hard to tell what was Lucy and what was health bar at first - or indeed, what lucy even was. Interesting concept, but I think for the pay off, 5 minutes of arguably limited gameplay such as this is too long.

pvwradtke says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:10am

I found it odd that the enemies could go through walls, when there's enough evidence that the code required to make them not do it is readily available ;). A bit hard, maybe changing the goal to reach some place instead?

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:46pm

I like an arena shooter and this is a good start, but it really could do with better pacing and a lot more juicing up. I felt that I spent most of my time waiting around shooting the occasional bad guy.

It crashed in the middle of the boss fight.

May 9, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Not enough variety to justify such a long timer. It ended up being a waiting game, since there was no incentive to go anywhere, so I just stood still and shot, until the boss (who had way too much health) showed up.

The movement felt pretty good though. For this kind of game, making shooting happen when you hold down the mouse button, instead of every time you click, is way better.

granut100 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 10:43pm

Movement and shooting was good. I also killed the prince of darkness! :D woot!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]