Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Kyle the Caiman in: Kyle's Dreamland

by Gravity Games - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welp, here's the result of 48 hours (minus sleep, of course) of hard work. Kyle's Dreamland. If you like the weirdness of this (or think it should be weirder), you'll probably like anything in general with Kyle the Caiman in it. All his stuff tends to be more or less like this (this is actually quite tame by the standard of things I've done related to him actually...). Please remember to rate and comment. You can follow me on Twitter here: https://twitter.com/Gravity_Games, on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Gravity-Games-Interactive/316874718339304, and Google+ he- ... actually... don't do that last one. Google+ is terrib- I mean, I never use it...

EDIT: Forgot the controls:

Arrow Keys: Move
X: Jump
C: Action Button (Use hammer/pillow)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#424Audio2.96
#441Humor2.59
#536Graphics3.19
#736Mood2.79
#856Fun2.67
#912Overall2.81
#933Innovation2.56
#1171Theme2.15
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

zebi24 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:46am

Cute graphics and really nice audio. And yeah, it is kind of weird, but thats ok. :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:32pm

I Like it :D

Cambrian_Man says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:10am

Hard to explain, but it sort of reminds me of Wonder Boy in Monster Land? Cartoony graphics were quite nice. Wish there had been more done with the whole sleep mechanic.

otato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:14am

I liked the way you handled switching between two worlds, but I was sad at the abrupt end to the game. Oh they joys of limited time :)

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:33am

Simple, cutesy graphics. I keep getting stuck by using the sleep button, not sure why. Couldn't finish, but I'm rating what I could see.

Gravity Games says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Thanks for all the comments!
@zebi24 Yeah, I was intentionally going for a wacky and weird feeling, I'm honestly not confident I pulled that off well enough to be honest...

@Cambrian_Man Any particular ideas you had in mind? I was thinking of doing a post-mortem in the form of a bonus stage in the game I'm working on if this entry is generally well-liked.

@Otato Thanks, the different worlds were originally going to be vastly different (which you can sort of tell in the first 3 worlds, there was even going to be a boss that changed depending on the world you were on), but then I looked at the clock and saw it was 8:00 PM... yeah, I knew I wasn't going to be able to do that without a level editor, and I just didn't have level editor time...

@kyyrma Can you try replicating the glitch and/or explaining your hardware? I'd like to try and fix it if at all possible.

mess110 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:29pm

what a pleasent really character <3

broepi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:34pm

the graphics are cute. the music, okay, after a couple of times it's somehow catchy ^^ but it could use some more sfx.

ccglp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Cute graphics, maybe little short?

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:00pm

This is an interesting concept. Didn't feel like I had a good grasp on what specifically was changing when I slept or woke up. Or if I went to sleep within a dream. I think it's worth continuing to work on.

mat1er says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Fun but too short!

lajos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Good concept, but I got the good ending too soon ; )

Myyyvothrr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Cool small game, I like it!

DrMelon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Reminds me a little of my own entry! :D

Newt_ says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:01pm

Nice! My gator guy would sometimes freeze when I changed dream levels though. :/

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Hehe, cute!

Katamori says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:00am

Silly but almost cute graphics, great concept, disappointingly short. Check my video about further opinions.

Caridorc says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Beatiful graphics, well done!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]