Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Skin

by JFlegle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Skin
You play as the demon "Skin", located deep in a cave. Humans have stumbled into you domain. You must kill the humans. Attack them from behind and jump into their bodies.
While hiding inside a body most humans will ignore you. Skin can also leave the body of a human and it will turn into a zombie.

This is a stealth game!

ASWD or arrow keys to move

Theme: This game takes place under the surface of the planet and the demon can get under the skin of the AI.

Tools:
Unity3d
Ngui
Paint.net
SFXR

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#255Innovation3.51
#356Humor2.75
#517Fun3.06
#623Theme3.19
#714Overall3.02
#822Mood2.69
#867Audio2.09
#1064Graphics2.35

Comments

rylgh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:40pm

tough! interesting mechanic and nice little ragdolls

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Really cool concept! I would have liked a bit more variety in challenge types, but with some polish this could be a really unique, fun game!

hoqjed says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Great mechanics!!! Entering a person and leaving them to make them into your minion was awesome.

thx4nothing says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:51pm

I like the idea and the mechanics of the game. Who does not want to control an army of zombies :D

Magdev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:58pm

I love the art and the mechanics nice work

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:01pm

I think the mechanics are the real strong point of this game: both the stealth and zombie ways of killing intruders were great fun. Well done!

mollymus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Cool concept for sure! I think the execution couldve needed some more time though:/

dook says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Interesting mechanics, and nice interpretation of the theme. It felt a little sluggish, though. Looks promising :)

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:01pm

The mechanics are interesting and the ragdolls are very funny. But the game needs better graphics and polishing. Great entry anyway!

Rad Star says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:02pm

interesting concept ! with a little more work, it could be a really good game :)

camlang says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Nice concept. Zombies rule!:)

Tipyx says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:32am

Wow, not the most beautiful, but there is a very interresting mechanic here !

danialhyatt says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:59am

Reminds me of an old game I believe was called Messiah, that had a similiar mechanic. Good stuff

hanoth says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:09am

I think this is a fantastic idea and it is fun to play. You should really develop this further.

Arakade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:40am

Love it! One of the few entries that had me retrying to get past a level! :-D

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:14pm

That was really hard, but really fun! I love that you can turn the people into zombies by leaving their husks. Very cool :)

CrocaDino says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:22pm

I really enjoyed the concept! It was definitely difficult at parts, but overall it was very interesting and fun. This game should definitely be further developed!

May 4, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Zombie is a cool concept. I just thought it's little too tough for my taste

ryebread761 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:47pm

A little confusing as to what to do but interesting game.

dj_pale says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:54pm

Nice idea, could do with a little polish and more interesting levels.

abayb says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:03am

Awesome! I love the mechanics!

FrameMatt says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 4:10am

I really love this one! It reminds me the old "Messiah" (trying to remember the name actually) were you can posses people as well.
Pretty fun~

pedrosanta says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Interesting, challenging. :) Just a little note: dude, where's the restart?

frogcheese says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:26pm

I had fun with this game! Taking control of the enemies was cool, but the coolest part was building a small army of zombies and then taking out your last enemies from behind while they were fighting your minions. Good work!

ndebruyn says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Interesting idea!

JoshRespawns says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:36pm

nice

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]