Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deepeon

by HacksawUnit - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You awake in a cave with nothing but your gun and a flashlight.
----
4/28/2014
Fixed typos. See comment below.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#7Mood4.41
#65Overall3.90
#78Fun3.79
#103Audio3.64
#126Graphics3.94
#166Theme3.73
#283Innovation3.47
#570Humor2.42
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

evilDan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:09am

Doesn't seem to be running for me :(

MrBlade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:10am

Amazing atmosphere and art style. I love the sounds as well as the effects on the water with your torch. Some of the sounds were jarring and rather scary, however I think that was the intention. I found the earlier levels very easy and the later levels were difficult. The difficulty curve felt well done and seems like you have a handle on it.

I look forward to what you make in the future, keep it up!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:13am

Nice!

jugglerrob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:26am

The music does a nice job of setting the mood. I couldn't for the life of me get past level 5.

HacksawUnit says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:49am

@evilDan Could you tell me what browser you are using?

ShivanHunter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:52am

Ooh, it's one of the games I kept seeing pics of in irc! Excellent visual style, good audio, and engaging gameplay!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:01am

The font is really difficult to read, though perhaps that was intentional. The = button doesn't seem to work for mute, at least on Firefox.

The overall style is very consistent, and the mood is good, though I'm personally not fond of the extreme low resolution.

The game seems quite difficult to not have level-based restarts though. Running through the first few levels with no interaction just adds extra time, so I quit after dying 5 or 6 levels in. :P

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:11am

This game is phenomenal, the atmosphere is rock-solid, I love the minimal graphics, the sound design is amazing, and the gameplay is great. I was literally frightened at multiple points as I played, regardless of the low-res graphics.

Anny says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:26am

Loooved the graphics and the sound freaked me out a couple of times

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:54am

The graphics are great! Super LORES. The atmosphere is nice. Gameplay seems very hard, but overall very nice. Good job!

Huder says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:37pm

Great game but too hard. These sounds are not for me but they adds scary atmosphere to this cool graphic.
This is best game on this LD so far.

runvs says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Great Game! The style and the mood (graphics as well as audio) are really well done. I really got scared in some situations so you definitely did a great job! :D

Some (small) drawbacks are the font and the kind of harsh sounds (some slight high shelf filter loweing on the SFX would have done great pleasure).

evilDan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:38pm

This time it's working!

Really fun - I love the ultra-low res pixel art!

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Never before in Ludum Dare has a game given me the scare. Great job! :D

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Really nice entry, the atmosphere was ridiculously good, felt tense the entire way through and got scared a lot of times. Really nice job!

BruceDoh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:41pm

Nice graphics, good fun, nice and challenging.

Would be nice to have some sort of checkpoints. I don't want to replay the whole thing to get back to where I was!

HacksawUnit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:21am

*Note from the creator!*

There were two minor typos in the game when it first released that have been fixed:

◙ Originally, WASD/Arrow control was going to be toggle-able. This was never implemented and the variable that set control was set to WASD permanently. I intended to remove any reference to the toggle ability from the code and enable both methods of control, but overlooked it. Arrow control has been enabled by deleting any toggle code.
◙ The final level was supposed to take you to an ending screen, but due to a typo, it took the player to the game over screen. Nothing was added to the game; 2 words were changed and now the game works as intended.

If you would like to verify what changes have been made, download both version of the source above and compare them in Construct2. :-D

Deity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:11am

Very cool concept. Gameplay was surprisingly smooth considering the limited amount of pixels. Nice work

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:54am

Very tense and atmospheric. Fantastic minimalist visual style.

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:09am

whoa... scary shit. Excellent mood!

nicolashognon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:09pm

really impressed .... and scared. great job

jurnacsr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Wow, that was a great little experience! Great atmosphere, great sounds, and scary as hell, especially the red ball. Nice!

Ravetcofx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:55pm

For such an abstract art style, it was pretty tense and scarry, great job :D

Therrato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:41pm

The sounds for shooting were a bit loud (but on the other hand those sounds are loud) music was fitting to the style.

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Successful demake of horror genre. Unique sprites for each shooting angle - great touch. Usually people just rotate the sprite, which wouldn't work with your big pixel style.

pighead10 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:35pm

My favourite game so far. Really liked the puzzle design, the difficulty, and the sound effects with the art style create a great atmosphere.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:51am

The atmosphere this game sets is amazing. Great work!

robcozzens says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:58am

That was really cool. And very creepy!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Cool game. Really nice art style and scary gameplay!

Elforama says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Awesome feel, nice job.

BuKaneerz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:40am

Really good gameplay !
I DID IT !
awesome work !

minism says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:41am

BEAUTIFUL game with a really cohesive aesthetic, fabulous work. Scared the shit out of me the first time I played too.

alvarop says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:47am

I really liked it even though it's really hard. I wish it wouldn't restart at level one every time. I feel like this is a design decision that you've made knowing the frustration it would cause, but could you explain a bit more about why you implemented it this way?

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:25am

So much tension crammed into so little pixels. A truly astonishing achievement in audio design as well. Kudos all around!

anissen says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:16pm

That was spooky! Great effects with minimal graphics.

xandy says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:32am

the low res low color pixel art style is very unique and great! having to run through the tutorial levels every time you die is a bit tedious in my opinion.

taocayo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:08pm

I second the opinion of allowing you to continue on the last level you died instead of doing everything all over again. GREAT atmosphere. From the art direction to the dirty sound effects I was being pulled into this little hostile alien world.

BenW says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:43am

It was fun but it was really frustrating restarting at level 1 each time. Dying in one hit wouldn't have been so bad if it weren't for the restarts.

Nkracer says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Nice game, fun, and surprisingly creepy as hell!

May 7, 2014 @ 4:22pm

You are featured in today's episode of "Ludumdare to Believe" by the Button Masher Bros! Check it out at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RsYGv849RzM

whalebot says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:07pm

Unfortunately, the sound wasn't working on my browser (that doesn't surprise me). Even without the sound, the mood set up in this game was very good. Nice work with this.

Jiggawatt says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Streamed this. There's a point when low-res graphics stop being "retro" and become simply unreadable. I feel like it was trying to be moody but didn't really succeed, and there wasn't much else to carry the game. So yeah.

In a simple game like this, polish is extremely important, and the lack of it is an eyesore. The difficulty curve is ok, but the restarts are what really subtract points. You're trying to teach the player the basic design implicitly, yet you punish them for trying things out. It doesn't work out like that.

HacksawUnit says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:17pm

@Jiggwatt Completely valid points! Having to restart from the beginning was not intentional, though. I wanted to put in checkpoints every 2 levels, but ran out of time.

jsmars says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:45am

Great entry, scary even with so few pixels! :)

ripatti says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:13am

Oh my god! You created really solid horror game. Couldn't pass the first level with red head, but then understood that it came aggressive by light of flashlight. The next level after it - not to look at the red head, NOT TO LOOK AT THE RED HEAD, ouch, so many hives, BANG! Oh no! OH NO! NONONO! GAMEOVER =_=

May 9, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Super nice looking game! I included it in part 17 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you want to check it out :) http://youtu.be/wBne0r55jPY

FrameMatt says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 9:38pm

I agree with jsmars.
Pretty fun~

Rustam says ...
May 16, 2017 @ 9:27am

This is my first time i visit here. I found so many interesting stuff in your blog especially its discussion. From the tons of comments on your articles, I guess I am not the only one having all the enjoyment here! keep up the good work.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]