Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

sirtet

by ahnt - Jam Entry

Ever wondered where the completed lines in Tetris go? What happens with them beneath the surface? Or where do the tiles come from?

Sirtet is showing you what happens beneath the surface of Tetris. Your mission is to take the completed lines or parts of them and turn them back into tetrominos. Connect four tiles of the same color to get a huge bonus, or connect lots of tiles with the same color to free space.

Use <left> and <right> to shift the dropping line around - the left and right wall wrap!
Use <down> to make lines drop faster, or use <up> or <space> to immediately drop a line to the floor.

Enjoy!

Want to read the post mortem? go here: http://alproductions.us/blog/2014/04/30/ludum-dare-29-post-mortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#59Innovation(Jam)3.81
#148Theme(Jam)3.61
#181Overall(Jam)3.50
#231Fun(Jam)3.24
#308Humor(Jam)2.74
#398Mood(Jam)3.00
#481Audio(Jam)2.77
#568Graphics(Jam)2.84

Comments

ahnt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Give is a couple of seconds to load on Kongregate!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:57pm

I love the idea that there is a person playing a game of reverse Tetris in order for other people to play Tetris.
Great idea.

Zephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:17am

A great idea, and an interesting twist on both Tetris and the theme. Awesome idea! I did spend several minutes confused though because I was trying to use WASD instead of the arrow keys.

shuanDang says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:22am

That was a really neat idea!

Eirikir says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:39am

I loved the idea, and it worked just fine to me. Nice game, grats man!.

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Awesome, reverse Tetris :) I've played tons of different Tetris clones, but this one brought something new. Good job!

quill18 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:11pm

An interesting twist on a familiar game. :)

sandbaydev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Hehee, awesome entry. I've always pondered the same... Controls were responsive, nice art, nice idea. Well done.

sink_t says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:21pm

A nice demake, as well as fulfilling the current theme. The only doubts I have are the backgrounds – the Kremlin, some awfully-scaled gears and a cave?

Jaenis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Ouch my tetris hand! (similar to tennis elbow)
Great game!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:15am

What a great idea.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:15am

I would love to see a two player variant of this where one player is playing Tetris and the other person is making pieces to send them.

Celt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:32am

First i was like "ok, how the heck is this meeting the theme"...but then...very clever :D

NeithR says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:36am

Never thought a reversed tetris before. Awesome! =w=b

mattrified says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:56pm

Awesome spin on a classic game, :)

metkis says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:00am

I enjoyed how well tight the game feels. Interesting take on the theme.

alect says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:29am

Very clever, I liked this one a lot.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:50am

Brilliant idea. I love the game. Good job.

May 1, 2014 @ 11:50am

Nice idea.

mcburrobit says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:53am

Easily me favorite game in the jam. The idea is ingenious!

raisedmedia says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:53am

This is brilliant. I could only think about how the other guy was wondering where is long straight piece was...

SmilingCat says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:57am

Interesting use of the theme, and unique game concept overall. I really liked the idea of reversed Tetris.

SonnyBone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:16pm

One of the best uses of theme I've seen. Very awesome core idea, tight implementation, and appropriate graphics/audio. You did a great job, and I expect good results from the voting out of this one. :D

Hammervuis says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:02pm

Very clever use of the theme. I liked it a lot.

cirpig29 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:06pm

That's an amazing good idea you guys had!

Dreii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Very nice :) has a very zen feel to it, I got totally lost playing it for a bit longer than intended haha. It seems odd that sometimes you can make a shape out of certain colors but have extra blocks of that color also disappear, wasn't sure if it was intentional but I loved it either way :)

otato says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:01am

Very interesting idea and a very unique take on the theme. Great job!

ZYXer says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:27am

Reverse tetris! What a great idea!

I like the music too! ;)

Waterman7 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:10pm

This is great! Love the idea.
Also, congrats on successfully reversing the gameplay while still keeping the feeling of the original game.
Would be interesting to see this connected to actual games of tetris...

joe40001 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:53am

Brilliant game, you should know right now that as far as I'm concerned you should win best innovation for LD29.

CommanderJ says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Very original idea. Fun, simple, and a complete game.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]