Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

PR0BE

by Softwave - Jam Entry

Basic idea: A game where you explore the Saturnian moon of Enceladus.

This was my first attempt at an LD and I didn't quite finish, which is disappointing. I feel I learned a lot though. I will keep adding to the game and actually try and finish it post-LD.

What went wrong:
I made the probably unwise decision to use the Phaser framework and JavaScript/HTML5 instead of Flash/Flixel, my usual toolset. I just wasn't familiar enough with Phaser and its quirks to finish my game in time. Adding to that, it proved difficult to turn a basic concept into a workable idea. Ideas, at least when it comes to games and gameplay, are not my strength.

What went right: I learned a lot. I feel that I have a much better chance at making something good in the next LD and I'm looking forward to it. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#407Theme(Jam)3.09
#525Mood(Jam)2.80
#610Fun(Jam)2.46
#619Humor(Jam)1.81
#626Audio(Jam)1.95
#644Innovation(Jam)2.39
#659Overall(Jam)2.60
#661Graphics(Jam)2.52
#1930Coolness26%

Comments

elefantopia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Too bad there is no indication of ice thickness, I'd have loved to drill that ice!

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:09pm

I found the thin ice and pressed space to drill, but nothing happened! Well, it's hard to pick up a new framework for a jam, you have something to show for it at least!

PartyBoat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:15pm

I had a surprising amount of fun just trying to land that thing. It's too bad you didn't have time to finish, but it was still enjoyable!

Softwave says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:16pm

@pancakecity, that should be fixed now.

And thank you all for the comments. :)

I'm going to try and properly finish it.

Katamori says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:00pm

A pretty accurate landing simulation. Still worth a 3 in Overall, since it brings me back into some Kerbal Space Program events. :D

andreaswitzen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:38am

Enceladusbroz 4 lyfe!

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:14pm

I liked the feeling of the controls during the landing part! I didn't know what to do in the submarine :)

byExclusive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:30am

good

May 3, 2014 @ 11:28am

This is pretty fun :)
Well done for your first Ludum Dare!
Might I suggest you take a look at HaxeFlixel?
It publishes to both Flash and HTML5 as well as all native platforms and has nearly the exact same API as Flixel (since it's a Flixel port) :)

May 3, 2014 @ 3:05pm

I didn't struggle to drill through the ice. But I'm not sure how to pass what came after that. As you said it's unfinished I'm guessing I got to the end.

I'm a fan of games that tell narratives through multiple different gameplay sequences (like landing and then swimming and then something else). So I hope you do flesh this out some more.

In any case, well done on your first Ludum Dare! Hope you compete again!

jujule says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:07pm

A good start and a good job for a first entry. More specifically : good controls and this is usually the hardest part to get right. Keep participating.

end3r says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:12pm

The game have a potential, so keep up and work on it, good luck!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]