Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

DIG! DIG! DIG!

by Harsay - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The lava runs down!
Dig as deepest you can!
Touch the lava or lava touches you = death.

Movement: arrow keys

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#305Fun3.35
#343Humor2.78
#528Theme3.30
#745Graphics2.86
#812Overall2.92
#836Mood2.67
#843Audio2.17
#968Innovation2.51

Comments

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Pretty nice, the camera not catching up to you fast enough was a little annoying, but I still found it pretty fun. Nice job!

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:41am

Very nice. Not being able to see what's below me as I was digging gave me some anxiety. Maybe that's a good thing. Would love to see the character animated a little with some dirt particles and some slightly gentler sfx :)

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:50am

239! :D This is simple but a lot of fun. Very nice. Makes my wrist hurt after a while!

MunkeeBacon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:35pm

Simplistic, yet addicting. The only advice I'd say is change some of the sounds a little, the digging sound is a bit ear piercing to hear over and over again.

SoupWithBits says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Mashed my down arrow good!
Pretty sweet game.

Thorig says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Great game and made me laugh! Nice entry and the camera is really nice.

Gaming_Ray says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Really cool, but that sound...

May 1, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Oh that digging sound!
Overall quite nice in the way how it completely stresses me out (oh that sound!).
The difficulty just pretty unfair since there is nothing I can do to see where I am going. So if I end up in a dead end I really could not do anything about it. Still, nice little game.

timtipgames says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:17am

What a button mashing ;) The dig sound was a bit annoying but I couldn't stop trying to get deeper for a while ;)

matt_j says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:53am

Simple. Needed some more stuff to keep it interesting, I think.

Photon says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:07am

Why does the web link take me to a webpage with an "S"?

lucienpro says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:15am

Really fun! Needed a bit of animation though. It had really fun game-play but would probably give someone RSI (repetitive strain injury) if they played too long XD + Highscore 110

May 3, 2014 @ 5:22am

I like this! Very simple an effective. Neat take on an endless runner. Good job. Very easy to build on this concept.

gwa says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:45am

Nice fun game made me laugh :)

Muciojad says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:56am

Simple, fast and very challenging ;] I very like it, it's better than a lot of "biggest" games ;)
PS prawie strzalka mi wypadla ;P Naprawde kawal dobrej roboty stary :)

Tuism says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:38am

I like it all except for my finger getting really tired. I think if the character moved without pressing multiple times it would make for a more user-friendly game, though then of course the panic-ness wouldn't be there.

So I guess mechanically I'd have liked something less painful to be the game :P

But good job, well polished!

Tanner says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:42am

Cool game, nice graphics!

DragonXVI says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:38am

Surprisingly fun for such a simple concept.

poxpoxpox says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:02pm

I like the death spin animation thingy!

Wertle says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Hard but fun, I kept wanting to keep trying. Spamming the button became quite painful pretty quickly, i kind of wanted to just be able to hold it down and dig (my tendons really wanted this to be the case). I love the dramatic dutch angle at the end when you die. Nice work!

May 3, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Simple game but quite fun. Feels good to mine through stuff. The rotation effect when you die is neat. It did feel like a bit of a button mash at times though, and maybe it could do with more types of obstacles.

Toby Pinder says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:47pm

I feel that the digging should work while holding a key down rather than requiring "mashing". Other than that it's fun! Particularly like the death sound/partial spin animation!

Newt_ says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Very tense and fun!

Fragsteel says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Very simple. Very accurate title name. Quite fun for a little bit.

TobiasW says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Simple but fun gameplay with nice graphics - and I really like the digging sound effect. I don't know why, but it gives the game a humorous touch.

The rotating zoom at the end is golden, haha. Also your game has lava, which is pretty much a hallmark of all the best games!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]