Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Growth

by bogdan.tana - 48 Hour Compo Entry

'Growth' is a game where you have to grow an abnormally large plant in order to escape an abandoned laboratory, while unveiling the mystery behind the place.

This demo plays you through the first room of the game.
Eventually, the player escapes the laboratory from beneath the surface of that which will look like Moon, now having a sparse but breathable atmosphere, but in the company of a ruined planet Earth.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#467Graphics3.29
#503Humor2.50
#566Audio2.77
#702Mood2.84
#947Fun2.55
#981Innovation2.49
#1108Theme2.35
#1136Overall2.50

Comments

raulincze says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:53am

Really hard to control with your keyboard. Very smooth with a controller, I would wish that I could "platform" (verb) more. :D

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:35pm

looks good. gonna get a windows machine to test more unity games

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:36am

Unfortunately short, but I can second it works really well with a 360 controller. Nifty art style. The movement was almost a bit too slippery and fast!

TheGameFather says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:15pm

The graphics is nice. But the control needs more polished. A bit too short, I just turn on the pipe and jump up to the top and I win?

MintArcade says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Yes, controls are bit hard, but overall its a fine game. Cool art style.

thinkster says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Camera was a little jerky when jumping. It is a little short, was hoping for more rooms as definitely as potential.

Stepperz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:50pm

I'd say it's a little short but other than the lack of gameplay, the game was of good quality.

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Everything is very fast! Movement is like ice, room floods alarmingly quickly, not sure if this is all by design but it was a little overwhelming for my simple brain. Incredibly short but a very nice polished proof of concept.

mattrified says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:29am

A little short but the idea is interesting.

mimiga says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:05am

started off looking really cool but then it turns out this first minute of the game is great looking but then theres nothing else. i'd absolutely play a full version of this

scgrn says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:55pm

I had no problems with the controls. Looks promising!

abayb says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:27pm

It was very difficult to control with the keyboard. It was very good, and I feel like I would definitely play more if there where more levels.

larouxn says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Overall hard to control with the keyboard. Short but fun game!!

Newt_ says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:32pm

Too short! I didn't want it to end. :)

Airwaffle says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Hard to see at the most blue pulsating water screen effect. Nice short scope, but a bit too short and pointless, maybe a bit more story (text) could have been squeezed in to make it feel more worth it? Hard to control the jumps. Nice graphics.

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:48am

Would definitely be nice to see more levels! This level was nice and intuitive though, and the graphics were very nice

Brick says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:33pm

This is really short, but more enjoyable than a lot of the games here.

Candyhandy says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Salut Bogdan,

Really nice puzzle game, i like most of all the level design, which i think is really unique.

Jacic says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 5:55pm

The gravity is strong! The game was surprisingly short, but the story seemed interesting.

kristof says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Good start. The keyboard controls are a bit fiddly on a german keyboard, as the "z" is placed where your "y" is placed. Also the collisions seemed a bit off the further up I got.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]