Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Something Fishy

by AnnaGavaldaKedavra - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Bug on the audio, soon to be repaired.

ARROW KEYS or WASD to move
Collect rings to increase speed.
Space to begin
Click on dialog box.

Try to catch the star.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#42Audio3.89
#61Mood3.89
#166Theme3.73
#217Graphics3.75
#225Humor3.05
#459Overall3.27
#648Innovation2.93
#780Fun2.76

Comments

StabAlarash says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:18pm

Hey same name indeed, nice mood (and of course nice title ^^)

Baknik says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:01pm

The music and the mood makes it.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Strange in a nice way. Nice visuals, I'm not so sure about the controls... :) Music was nice, just not quite fitting... and in that, very fitting! :)

gwa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:05pm

Hey liked the game and the feeling of geeting deep

marccspro says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Nice game ! The audio is just amazing :D

Seme says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:15pm

Music sets into a good mood. Swimming controls are very good. I must confess that in the first playtrough I didn't realize that there were actually options for the dialog. I just clicked to get rid of them. The second time I realized it and played several times trough to get the all dialogs :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:40pm

@Seme Normaly your choice of dialog should have changed the last dialog with the Whale, but i lacked the time.

dector says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:16pm

This psychedelic game rocks :)

TheExGenesis says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:32pm

I like it, sooooo moody

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Great atmosphere, thanks to a well-styled music and graphics.

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:35pm

Awesome music & lovely background art.

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:37pm

beautiful! fantastic mood and funny:) moby's dick

dejant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:40pm

What's with the triangle in the sky? Great mood and nice music!

TaleLore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:40pm

I loved the art style.

SzRaPnEL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:42pm

It really was fishy :)
Great job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Wooow, very cool art style. Great game, I would like to see it developed further! :)

MrShortee says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:54pm

I ended up swimming endlessly into black while the audio glitched. Still fun though, nice aesthetics.

kristof says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Awesome music! I let it play in the background for a while :)
I think the controls would be better, if you could turn on the spot. But overall a very nice experience.

ccglp says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:54am

Lots of personality here

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:07am

This is artistically valid.

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:24am

Great music and graphics ! (:
But a little short ):

Gaeel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:56am

Interesting...

I wonder if the fishes accepted me as one of their own, or if they simply tolerated my presence?

Great music, got a mellow, poetic feel from this game.
I like the grainy, badly developed photo look...

Pierrec says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:13pm

The controls are weird...
But the audio <3 <3 <3

Nice surreal experience. didn't find any ending. Maybe because I'm a liar.

kbm says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Absolutely awesome music, great moody art and good use of theme. Loved it! <3

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:40pm

@Pierrec There is one ending (not enough time for the second one), and it's when you try to catch a star.

Lucio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:22pm

It fits the theme very well! I like the music a lot.

Helopol says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:01am

Very cool music and mood :)

soulrot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:12pm

I have said this before in other comments at other games: I don't think there is much actual 'gameplay' in this game, which is a shame. The music, graphics mood and humour are nice though! The controls felt smooth as well.

LazyParia says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:11pm

Pretty nice game, I can't figure out the ending though

jorgemoag says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:35am

I like the mood and graphics but the gameplay is a little repetitive. However, good entry! thnx for making it

May 1, 2014 @ 2:08am

Yeah about the gameplay, i had a hard time with a few things so i didn't have the time to finish. There should have been tricks to do while jumping out of the water and harder rings to catch. I am sorry for that.

phi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Weird game, great atmosphere, cool sharks; I love it.

ActionRemix says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:11pm

Can't move. Did I get eaten?

May 1, 2014 @ 9:42pm

@ActionRemix There is a bug on the third fish dialog, you have to click on the dialog fast or u drown.

DrStahlbart says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:01pm

I love, that there is no time limit, so I could spent some time playing nonsense around with the controls. :)
Also a beautiful piece of art.

May 3, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Mysterious game! And nice music, I like it!

May 4, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Loved the music. wasn't too sure what i was doing regarding gameplay. i couldn't seem to die....Very moody/atmospheric.

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Wasn't sure what was going on, but I'm pretty sure there's a puzzle... ? Do I have to keep talking to the fish in order to figure it out? I got all the rings I could find, but no star.

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Hmm, interesting game, but with great music and graphics!

May 7, 2014 @ 4:54pm

@csanyk The star is in the sky

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]