Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Magma Dropper

by ArthurMaker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Read help the red blocks comin gup in your face are magma blocks THERE IS 10 LEVELS!!!! COme to the flag

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#649Fun2.92
#659Humor2.29
#843Audio2.17
#878Mood2.63
#973Theme2.67
#989Overall2.72
#1085Innovation2.28
#1143Graphics2.17
#1746Coolness37%

Comments

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:33am

I ended up playing for a while! Nice game!

realtutsgml says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Very cool classic side scrolling game. The game had some glitches but all in all I actually played it for a good amount of time. Great job! I can see potential.

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:57pm

Nice game, I thought the upgrade system was a pretty neat Idea. Kept crashing on my pc so i couldn't see the end :( oh well i'll try it later. Nice job!

Rahazan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Could use a little more attention on the art-side, but the game was functional and had a start and ending, and that is all what matters. Well done!

BuKaneerz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Nice work !
this is a really good concept (:
keet it up !!

Wertle says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:25am

Solid little platformer, the economy is a nice touch. If you were to keep iterating on this game, I would suggest adding some feedback for getting hit and time about to run out. Like sound or flashing or whatevs, just a little bit extra feedback would go a long way. Nice job!

mcburrobit says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:51am

I love the graphics!

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:06pm

There are some bugs but the game is still playable, btw my gpu started to overheat with this, what's wrong with your engine? Vsync helps a lot to solve this. Another thing is that i couldn't figure out how to buy in the shop :/

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Pretty fun platformer, would be awesome to see character animation in the next iteration, nice job!

eastes says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:38am

More magma less problems

ArthurMaker says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:13am

WhiteWolf93 read help.And i used no engine, i programmed everything...

Crefossus says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:43pm

I like the amount of levels and the water creation mechanic. I think you could have used this a little more in the level design (like blocking off an area with lava that has a bunch of coins) You can see the amount of work that went into this so you should be proud :D

Everything just needs a bit more polish - more sound fx (and maybe a brighter sound for the coin collection?) Sometimes you can't see where you're falling and because falling means you need to start the entire game over, this is painful! Try less saturated colors/less UI elements ?

klianc09 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:41pm

I finished it with 215 seconds left (I think this are not actually seconds but frame ticks). It wasn't really nice that you lose all lifes when falling down :(

Nice and fun idea, but it was lacking in graphics. You should try reducing the saturation and contrast of the colors a bit (the shop window is painful to look at).
But if you polish up the visuals and audio it can be a great game.

Melondonut says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 2:33am

gosh I love all of the platform games but this one is a bit hard for me. lol

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: using cached page]