Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cordyceps

by VanMerwan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

About something beautiful from Mother Nature.
Switch between the Fungus and the Beetle.
Feed the babies!

---------------
HOW TO PLAY
---------------

You can not see the level and change the direction at the same time.
Switch between them by pressing SPACE, then wait 3 seconds.
The fungus controls the direction and the speed of the beetle.
The beetle is hypersensitive, so don't put the orange cursor too far from the center.
Make the beetle roll over all the nests to infest them.
The key skill in this game is anticipation.

Controls : SPACE to validate, switch
Fungus mode (brain) : UP, RIGHT, DOWN, LEFT

For Windows, you need the XNA Redistributable (see download links) but you should already have it if you are a real gamer.
For Mac OS/X, you need the Mono Runtime (see download links).

Made by me and my body with CraftStudio.
CraftStudio is a multiplayer game for making games : http://craftstud.io/

Thank you if you read this and if you want/played my game.
Consider commenting below, I will be grateful. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#178Innovation3.66
#249Theme3.62
#368Humor2.73
#453Overall3.28
#464Mood3.09
#734Audio2.41
#743Fun2.81
#814Graphics2.77

Comments

Skywilly says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:13pm

Great idea, really smart & a original gameplay. Congrats !

DanDias says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:37am

This is an awesome, unique idea! Having to control one aspect (movement or sight) or another makes for some really interesting decisions. I enjoyed it a lot!

I did have an issue where it would crash sometimes. Seemed to be when it played a dying sound. But since I was dying anyway... :)

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:47am

Very cool and funny concept, definitely worth exploring further.

There is a tiny problem with design as it currently is though. At the moment slow and stead wins the race, the slower you move the less significant the delay between switching modes is and as there is no pressure on players the obvious winning strategy is to take your time (which however isn't very fun). Adding a time limit or something dynamic to the scene (like moving predictors, competitors or moving platforms) should should take care of that.

VanMerwan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:00pm

Bugfix: No more crashes. :)

Neonlare says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Very fascinating concept as a game, pretty damn enjoyable! Really. really clever and damn innovative, cheers for this!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:08pm

The graphical style is awesome! Great job.

Moosefly says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Game with a cordyceps theme? Count me in!

Interesting control-scheme, although it did favor going slow and steady like SuperIzzo already mentioned.

Liked the graphics, the ambient background sound and also the sound effects too, good job!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:32pm

I'm too inpatient for this kind of game I guess... But I finished the game and had some fun, actually wanted more...
Awesome idea that is nicely done! =)
Bonus for theme, more innovative than a fishing/mining game with a biological infestation thingy, things happening between the surface. =D

I would appreciate some kind of indication on the "transition"-screen that indicated what mode I changed to/from, as it was possible to regret the transition and get back... But maybe it's just me that is tired and confused?

Cirrial says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:48pm

A really creative idea and interesting interpretation of the theme! Switching could have been a little quicker, I feel, given there's no real pressure based around switching.

td1801 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:04pm

I can't play it... :/ When I press space for the second time, the screen become black ..

Jed T. says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:02am

I love the unique and original gameplay!

Udell Games says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:53pm

This is really cool, I love how unique it is!

Ragzouken says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:43pm

Really interesting game! The gameplay is really original and works surprisingly well

TheColorMan says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:26pm

The long transition between fungus and beetle make it super intense

May 5, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Kind of a weird game, hard to play for me. I included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series! http://youtu.be/O5O979VlwyY

Blanky says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:22am

For me this is an quite an original concept, I love that. Great work man.

strong99 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:25pm

It took me a read through the comments to understand the "transition" screen. Otherwise lovely.

goerp says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Most original concept I've played this Ludum Dare so far! Also the most original gameplay.
It took me a while to figure out, because I didn't know what the 'switch screen' was.
As a game it needs a bit of work because with patience you can't go wrong so the biggest enemy is impatience. I think that's not the best gaming concept.

romandtom says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:38am

Unique gameplay, so unique that it took me 5 minutse to realise how it works.
They are not hungry anymore.

ChuiGum says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 1:20am

Very very VERY Original! Love the graphics, and innovation!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]