Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bombcano

by bentog - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Third-person 3D platformer where you are a bomb trying to escape a volcano. Light yourself on fire, explode stuff, jump and double jump, roll etc.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#354Humor2.76
#406Mood3.16
#447Audio2.93
#562Innovation3.06
#594Overall3.15
#654Graphics3.00
#709Fun2.85
#867Theme2.87

Comments

Skywilly says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Concept of the bomb is new & pretty cool ;)

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:22pm

Quite fun!

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Awesome title, interesting mechanics, and great aesthetic. Controls were a little slow, but with some cleaning up this could be amazing!

TaleLore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:26pm

The physics made the game very fidgety. Good mood though.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Good work!!! I Like!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Really cool game. Creative and fun!

GarethIW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Played it to completion! After the first couple of deaths I was expecting to quit from frustration, but thanks to clever checkpointing and solid physics I wanted to keep playing. Well done!

grayhaze says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Really impressive given the time constraints. Found it really difficult to get to a cracked block in time, but that's down to my lack of platforming skill! I'd like to see this developed further.

eteeski says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Great game :) Reminds me of the fire temple of Ocarina of Time lol. cool puzzle idea. great artwork too :)

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Good stuff! The double jumps sometimes got disabled by going off a cliff or some such, but that's a minor quibble compared to the whole. Made it to the end, and twas satisfying to do so.

Menesetsu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Nice bomb idea!

KuGrou says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:34am

Cool idea. The controls felt a little stiff, but still fun overall.

gigitrix says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Like the ideas, it's just very difficult for me :)

MrLeePerry says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:14am

Super challenging to control I'm afraid. I liked the direction though, and really wanted to like it.

pansapiens says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:03pm

Fun but pretty tricky.

greg-anims says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:19pm

best i've played from this LD, nice idea and execution. in future remember to clamp your x/y movement vector2, so you cant move diagonally for extra speed :)

MintArcade says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:02am

Fun concept

joe40001 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:04am

I have played over 220 LD29 games, this one does not have the best graphics, does not have the best audio, is not the most innovative, but I've got to tell you I think it could be the most fun of any of the games I've played. And that's saying something.

You have a perfect sense of level design and difficulty, these are the important things for a game designer, artists, music, other things can be hired, but if the game designer doesn't have a good sense of level design and difficulty they just won't make good games.

I'm actually going to give you full points for humor because that final screen made me laugh more than any other games. Other ones have been more consistently humorous, but the existential crisis faced by the protagonist at the end just made me laugh.

Great great job, bentog.

May 14, 2014 @ 4:06pm

You have been featured in todays episode of Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=co5k5Gvj8rI

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]