Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under The Sea

by SonicRaptor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare and I must say I have never felt more rewarded when programming. And even if no one likes my game I still happy I did this.

I have not tested it outside of Windows so I am not sure how it will react but in theory it should work

EDIT: after getting some sleep I went over the game and made one graphical tweak the water overlay now scrolls

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#707Theme3.09
#823Innovation2.70
#826Graphics2.74
#867Audio2.09
#951Humor1.87
#1026Overall2.68
#1149Mood2.11
#1193Fun2.00
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

SonicRaptor says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 6:58pm

sorry messed up the Desktop download and I can't figure out how to reset it here is the desktop link for now
http://www.mediafire.com/download/wi63y24222t40nc/LD29_Under_The_Sea.zip

SonicRaptor says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Figured out how to fix it the Desktop downlod is right now

madhoe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:22am

Pretty neat, though it's hard to understand the game. I had to look at the readme like 3 times during the game in order to actually understand it! Simple 1 liner instructions when you're able to interact with something should make the game easier to get into. From what I can tell there's an overlay to make it look underwater? Maybe you can slowly shift that thing as time passes to make it look more... watery

SonicRaptor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:39pm

yeah I had that idea on Sunday of the jam but I couldn't get it to work.

SonicRaptor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:52pm

*compo I mean

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Not bad, although it was a bit hard to understand. Keep at it! :)

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:41pm

Submissions like this are what LD is about. Be proud of what you've created here.

SonicRaptor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:49pm

thanks man had more fun here than I have had on any project before I am now hooked

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Congrats on your first Ludum Dare! Nice job finishing!

The game has a nice resource system, but it ends up being pretty much about walking back and forth until you die. Would be fun if something else happened as well!

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:21pm

Cool Idea, and nice implementation of the mechanics, the controls feels a little bit laggy on my computer on the beginning though

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Fine but very simple game, not bad for your first entry.

J.Barrows says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:06am

I like it. For an expanded game some kind of upgrade system would make this very fun.

MrBlade says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:13am

Nice game, especially for your first LD!

It took me about five minutes to understand what to do, but once I got it, the game was enjoyable and quite relaxing in a way. The sounds were rather jarring, so I muted my audio. Nothing personal, they were just too much. If you added just some nice ambient sea music, with very soft *plinks* and *plunks* when you do actions, it would just be too good to be true. Aside from that the gameplay was pretty nice. I have secretly always wanted a maintenance game where you are just always running back in and forth fixing things, bringing resources around, and keeping your base up to snuff. Games like Rust and Minecraft worked for the most part for me, but this is like those games in their purest forms.

It was not at first clear to me how to get resources, I would just tap once on a resource and get nothing and decide they weren't the correct resource or something. Another secret gaming desire I have always had is game about leveling. Literally. I just want to do an action, watch a bar go up, the skill number go up a little bit and when I do it 9000 times, the game pats me on the head and gives me the ability to do that action again, but a little bit better. The more actions I can preform and the more little bars I can make go up, the better. This is why I played WoW. If you created a var to handle skills for each resource, and added a couple more resources, each resource controlling the skill vars, I would play nothing else; ever.

The graphics were solid, the gameplay was okay, and the sounds were LD quality. (What do expect from a game that does the graphics and gameplay so solidly in 48 hours? You can't have it all.)

One little thing I did have, that would be rather easy to fix, the background moves whether you are actually moving in the gamespace, or not. This is most evident when you continue to walk into an item in your base. At first, I thought I could push my base around because the background was moving when I would push into the items. A simple if(collideWithItems()){ no push } could fix this just fine.

The .zip also contains both the 01 version, and the 02 version. It is unclear if this is done with intention.

Anyway. This game is in my top three I have played this Ludum Dare, and could definitely be "the one I remember". I look forward to what you do in the future, and hope you can use my feedback to become an even better developer! KEEP. IT. UP!

SonicRaptor says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:31am

I greatly appreciate all the positive feedback, can't wait to the next Ludum Dare

SyBen says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:28am

Be proud of your game, it's runnable and playable, this is what LD is about ;)
The water scrolls too fast imho, but I liked the sounds and particularly the graphics.

Idkfawin32 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:47pm

I definitely agree about the upgrade system

zzForrest says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Neat entry! I liked the mechanics of survival. Some sort of indicator of resource collection would have been nice. The sprites on the guy look sort of awkward, too. Other than that, nicely done! I really hope you enjoyed your first ludum dare!

minibutmany says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Interesting idea and well put together overall. The water overlay is very nice looking, although it is strange how it keeps moving even if you are colliding with something.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]