Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Oceanographers: Trouble in the Deep

by dremelofdeath - Jam Entry

Tsunamis, earthquakes, and storms are plaguing Earth in the year 2150. Reports of mutant sea creatures destroying offshore oil rigs around the world cover the newspapers daily. The Oceanographers head beneath the surface to find the cause of all the destruction. Along their way to the bottom they must collect as many sea specimens before the water becomes too contaminated for ocean life.

Will The Oceanographers ever reach the bottom?
Will they find the cause of the mutations, save the world, and lead humanity into a golden age of enlightenment?
Or will they be forever trapped by the Trouble in the Deep?

(Thanks go out to the content provided by Pow Studios [smoke burst] and Andreas Ronning for his Barrage engine!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2134Coolness10%

Comments

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:22am

Cute graphics, gameplay is fun and challenging. I found the music unpleasant/offputting and didn't match the cute bright mood, sorry!

aisenhein says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Nice graphics

Maniulo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Loved the music, and the alarming sound really sets the mood.

May 2, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Quite interesting a weaponless bullet hell.
And I really like the music!

MrShoestore says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:43pm

I really liked the cute style of the graphics, the music was a bit too intense for the mood but good gameplay overall. Well done!

Figglewatts says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:54am

Pretty fun game, graphics were good. It seemed impossible to dodge things sometimes though.

May 3, 2014 @ 11:32am

I liked it

May 5, 2014 @ 4:29pm

Nice game. But some level are very hard.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]