Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mars Under The Surface

by zerocreativity1 - Jam Entry

Find out what happen in an abandoned mining shaft in Mars.

Programming: ZeroCreativity1
Art: Cassie Lakey
Music: Brain Bunker
Writer: Mohamed ElSamahy
Arrows/Wasd move
z = shoot
X = interface
esc =exit log
press and hold L to read back last log.

Doesn't always load for some reason.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#369Audio(Jam)3.08
#529Graphics(Jam)2.96
#616Mood(Jam)2.57
#631Theme(Jam)2.54
#703Fun(Jam)2.15
#716Overall(Jam)2.38
#760Innovation(Jam)1.72
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

paps says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:34am

When I heard the music I was expecting to fight a lot, but at the end not much. I think I would have wanted more creatures... Cool graphics too. Anyway nice game.

drnick says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:04pm

The story seems interesting and it was nice to follow it with the recordings.

However the gameplay isn't very good. Everything moves boringly slowly. The gravity could be greater. The walking pace of the player could be faster. Even the monsters and the shots of your gun are so slow they don't look very dangerous. The elevators take forever to go up/down.

Level design also isn't very rich. There are some blind jumps where you can't see if you'll fall to your death or land on the next platform you have to go.

It would be nice to have checkpoints in such a large game, but instead you have to start from the beginning if you fall. Otherwise the game isn't too hard, because it's so ridiculously slow. I'd like to complete the game for the story, but without checkpoints it'd be such a pain to do so I must refrain from going beyond the sobbing voice recording.

mrbungle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Great graphics, cool music. However I'm finding gameplay not so hot. Sometimes you can't see where you're going and you end up jumping into nothingness and hoping for the best.

javifugitivo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:21pm

I like the shot! And the music! Looks good

SmilingCat says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Pretty solid platforming controls, I never felt frustrated or hindered by them which is a rarity for a LD platformer. I think I got pretty far, but then the game glitched and the blocks stopped spawning though their colliders were still active and I could not continue from there.

dalbinblue says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:27am

The music and animation was fantastic, but the pace of the game was very slow, and it honestly felt like you had something much larger in mind for this game but didn't have the time to actually get that vision into the game. Unfortunately a good way through the game I fell off the edge of the level and was stuck at the bottom of the level map with nowhere to go and couldn't complete the game.

CaiusTSM says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:38am

The graphics and audio are great, but sometimes I felt like I was doing some leap of faiths because the camera was zoomed in too much so I could not see where I needed to jump to.

pkenney says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:43am

Great backing music track that got me in the mood to blast stuff, and you have the graphics and programming here for a nice solid fight into the dark depths.

But I felt that three design decisions held you back, and obviously you might disagree, just my opinion. I hope it's okay if I provide a bit of negative feedback because you *almost* had it:

1. Pace is too slow. Everything should be sped up 4x imo. Player, bullet, enemy.

2. Blind jumps aren't fair. The first thing you taught me player was that it's safe and necessary to do blind jumps. Then you punish harshly for blind jumps, then you make it necessary again. The final moment of playing the game, I had to guess if the correct blind jump was down, or to the right. I guessed wrong and was sent back to the start of the game.

3. No checkpoints is a mistake here, I think. Given the slow pace, and the errors by jumping as players explore, and the way everything is in the same place each time, the from-the-top restart meant most of my experience was repeating already-seen content instead of experiencing new content.

Anyway I don't mean to be harsh, you did a good job putting together a package here. I left critical feedback because you accomplished the hard part of implementing, but the experience fell short because of a few tweaks. Sorry!!

Tomski says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Like the animation and grapics. Would have been could to have a few more things to shoot but otherwise nice job!

Jacic says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 5:51pm

I like the art, but couldn't help noticing how strange the physics felt. Maybe it was just me.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]