Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deep Blue Home

by Jools64 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as a little fish trying to return to your family through a maze of traps and obstacles while solving a couple of execution based puzzles along the way!

I made everything in this game within the 48 hour time period except a small JavaScript library that I made before hand. During the competition I ended up updating the library substantially though.

Tools:
Graphics: Gimp & Graphics Gale (I use gale for animations.)
Code Editor: Notepad++
Language: JavaScript (Canvas and Web Audio API)
Level Editor: Ogmo
Sound Effects: Reaper
Music: LMMS

Phew, that was fun to make, pretty tiring though. As per usual at the start I wasn't really sure If I was going to enter but once I get started I just can't stop. ;) If I hadn't been watching other people make their awesome games on Twitch I feel like I could have gotten a bit more content in the game but ah well, that's part of the fun.

The source can be looked at in any browser. I may upload a zip a little later with all the files together in one place too for easy prodding at.

Thanks for taking a look at my game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#5Audio4.24
#5Overall4.41
#16Mood4.24
#28Graphics4.39
#31Fun3.98
#166Theme3.73
#392Humor2.69
#423Innovation3.25

Comments

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:24am

This was a great little game. I played the entire way through. Nice progression, nice level design. My favorite so far.

CastEclipse says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Loved it! Great art style and smooth controls. Please check out my game! http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=34910

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Nice game, the sound is very catchy, and the level design is amazing

MAT4DOR says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:39pm

It's really great, I love the music. :)

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Wow can't believe this was made in just 2 days!

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:46pm

This was really great, probably the best so far! It wasn't too short, actually it was surprisingly long for a game made in 48 hours. Solid work throughout, I liked the atmospheric music, the sound effects were good, graphics were nice... Heck, there was no single thing I didn't like!

The puzzles required quite a bit of coordination, and usually lasers re-enabled themselves half a second after I passed them. It's not a bad thing, though; the frequent save points made it pleasant to fail and try again. :)

Thijsku says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:52pm

I really love this game! The graphics are really nice and the music was very relaxing. The length of the game was pretty impressive. Definitely one of my favourite entries so far. ;)

zebi24 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:56pm

This is amazing, so polished.. Beautiful sound and graphics and so many features... you are the man! :) Favorite so far for me too!

TheGameFather says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Amazing! The progressive level design, all the details in the environment, and interesting mechanics. Five Star!

maxhaesslein says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Yeah, this is great!! I really really love the pixel art, the animation, the sound, the level design …

VictorDoval says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:32pm

Beautiful!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Absolutely gorgeous little exploration game! Great level curve (And the final moving-block section is crazy :D). Would love to see more!

Zccc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Amazing, this fills like a full game, congratulations on the execution, everyhting is beatufill, from sound to graphics and level design ;)

Kep says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:53pm

Great game! Good progression of powers and not too short.
I love it when people make metroidvanias for jams. Well done!

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Nice art and audio. This game is quiet relaxing, despite an unforgiving collision detection. The controls are well done too and feel pretty nice

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Really fun. The progression was great. The graphics and audio were awesome. Good job :)

StrykerKKD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:51pm

Made me want to play till the end. Nice game and story.

zanenga says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Brilliant game! I'm amazed at the amount of content created in 48 hours and at how polished it was!

tiffi_gaming says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:57am

WOW. Well polished.Well designed. Perfect Balancing. 5 Stars!

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:46am

This was a really impressive entry for the 48-hour time limit. You really nailed the underwater setting with a rather simple tile set, I'm envious!

This game showed real finesse with game design, especially the moment when you first get the bubble bomb and are trapped between the two lasers. That is exactly how you should teach new mechanics to the player.

The game is also surprisingly long for being made in such a short time, and the music and sfx are very fitting. The only thing I felt was out of place was the HUAH when picking up a power, it kinda' clashed with the style.

A very impressive entry, congrats!

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:04am

The art is nice, the sound design is awesome. The controls and feel are almost perfect, and the powerups and puzzles are really nice. The only real issue I had was that I thought the hitbox on the big electrified boxes could have been a bit smaller; you have no leeway at all - in fact, it seems like sometimes you get killed without even visually being hit.

Very good game, though!

okkolobr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:57am

Great game. One of those that make me say "what ? in only 48h ? REALLY ?". Congrats !

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:17pm

Really liked the graphics, extremely polished over all, and adding a save point right before you show the first thing that could kill you is really good level design. Nice job, I really liked it :)

Sakuyan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:19am

Really loved the environment, especially on the smaller details. I was blown away at the sheer amount of content you put into this game. Cool stuff!

cavf88 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:56am

I loved tiled games and this one is awesome! Great job and the power ups are fun.

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:27am

Impressive amount of content for such a game!

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:55am

This right here is my kind of game.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:02am

Absolutely charming game!

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:12am

Woah a metroidvania? That's impressive for 48 hours of work. Good job! One of the best entries so far.

lief says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:30am

maybe a classic, beautiful pixels

xhunterko says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:08am

Brilliant!

SojaBird says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:13am

Super awesome!
Winner

tomvert says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:34am

A very polished game, I'm impressed you had the time to add so much animations and fx (the bomb explosion is beautiful).

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:08pm

great work! solid game , thx for making it (- :

leo_gri says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:43pm

Whoah, very impressive game ! However, I was stuck into a wall by the time you have to avoid all the big block (and take shelter regurarly)

leo_gri says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Just before the end, in fact (yep, I played the game all over again :) )

Aaants says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Really great job all round on this. Right up there with my favourites.

zkenshin says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:17pm

This was quite fun, however near the part where you had to dodge the large blocks my movements became confined to the inside of the walls.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:20am

Good little story about Nemo(?) fish =)
I like bubble explosion effect. Suppose it take half of the day...

Photon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Aw man, that was great! The atmosphere, the mechanics... just really nice! Was a touch frustrating at some points but ultimately that was an excellently put together game and, really, a unique experience in both presentation and gameplay with the underwater physics and backdrop. Did I say it was great! Because it is. Yes.

May 1, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Great game, I finish him :) I don't often say that, but your soundtrack is awesome, nice atmosphere !

May 1, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Greate game, amazing soundtrack, nice graphics & atmosphere ! I liked the gameplay, and enjoy playing this one =D

Ithildin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Wow...Amazing level of polish and content for just 48h.

Excellent work!

loxo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Beautiful game with great audio. But I don't like the electro shocks.

BuKaneerz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Really good work !
The level design is really good
The mood, music and graphics are awesome

rincewind_cz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Amazing and wonderful! The combination of graphics, music and of untold story makes this The Game. I've really enjoyed playing it.

geekdrums says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:50am

It was really fun. Overall mood and level design are awesome. Great work!

Just before the ending level, I actually went through the wall by bug. Maybe I used ctrl(dash) between wall and enemy block...

Ragzouken says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:14am

really enjoyable, the music, animations, lighting stuff created a nice mood :)

May 2, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Really polished and super ambiance! Impressive work for 48hrs.

May 2, 2014 @ 11:53pm

I like these sorts of ambient exploration games so this is great! Really awesome sense of atmosphere, and the gameplay is spot on too.

IL_yoshioka says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:28am

Very good game! Level design and Graphics, Sound, Mood are great!

Wolve says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:32am

really awesome game man!
The "crispy" sounds and art style work really well

May 4, 2014 @ 8:36am

Ohh, this is lovely!

I love the music and the delayed title-screen :D

SK16Games says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Very beautiful game, I really love the soundtrack :'D 5/5 for audio and mood! Nice graphics too!

Lacaranian says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:37am

Nice ending, good puzzles, bravissimo!

Chronoberry says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 5:41am

Fantastic graphics. Love the fried fish sprite =D

Erkberg says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:32pm

An amazing game! The graphics are really good, the music creates a nice mood and the gameplay is fantastic, great job!

May 6, 2014 @ 4:17am

Amazing entry! When I first played i thought it was a jam game, not compo. The assets were so good, specially the bubble explosion (my personal favorite) and the background songs. Its an unbelievable amount of work for 48h.

I only have a few complains about the game:
- "Control" is a bad key for game input. On mac, the ctrl+arrows activates mission control, change screens, etc.
- The hit box of the fish is too big for the graphics. I would suggest increasing the size of graphics or decreasing the hit box.
- It would be nice to be able to dash to all sides and not only left/right

Other than that great experience

Kara Jayde says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:21am

Good level design, great sprite work and environmental art. Gameplay was good, no crits at all. Loved it ^_^

Lukbebalduke says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:30pm

EPIC !!! 5 stars overall.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:03pm

Great game! Graphics are adorable and thoroughly impressive, game mechanics are neat, and level design is extremely well done.

You should be very proud of this!

Ditto says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Ho-ley-shit. That was incredible! Amazed at how tight you made this in just 48 hours! I would say that last bit with the electroblocks is a bit annoying, but daaamn that is some good level design! :D Great work!

May 6, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Wow man. That was groin-grabbingly good.

thaaks says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Wonderful little gem! Graphics, sound and control are just great! Also the puzzle design and the increasing features of the fish. Very well done!

dector says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Cute game, nice art and aesthetics. Gameplay is little bit frustrating for me. Good score.

GFM says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 1:12am

Wow! Amazing graphics! The audio was also really nice! :)

scgrn says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:11am

AMAZING!

ethankennerly says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:22am

Dodging blocks and racing from green orbs pass red beam paths kept me alert. The pristine pixels and aural ambient music allured me. If you continue to develop this, when first seeing some of the background vines and blocks, interpreted they would block my movement.

NuSan says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:37am

Realy good game, great puzzle, a bit hard in the end, i needed lot of calm to finish the game.

ripatti says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Great game! Stucked on four stone blocks that move in different dimensions. Good job!

neekobus says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Cool ! Simple design, good gameplay.

I liked :
- The evolution of gameplay (rush, bubble)
- the simplicity and efficacity of gameplay

I didnt liked :
- I think some place are a bit too hard (or maybe is the control)
- Don't like the keyboard (space, ctrl)

Maybe you should add things to collect to encourage exploration ?
Good work !

jorgemoag says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Very good game! funny and addictive

goerp says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:58pm

I think, what impressed me most about this game is the level design. It all fits so well. The flawless integration of new features, the puzzles, the difficulty.

This is top class puzzle design!

paps says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Very good game. wow the last challenge before the end was really hard. good job

csanyk says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Very nice! It started getting really tricky after the bubble bombs.

NightShadow0 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:40pm

The level of polish and amount of content is very impressive, nice work!

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:08am

Fantastic, just amazing.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: using cached page]