Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Growdrop

by SethR - Jam Entry

An infinite faller with online highscores based on the Growtopia universe!

Use the LEFT/RIGHT arrow keys to avoid obstacles and collect treasure as you fall. The deeper you go, the more treasure is worth. There is also a combo system that rewards speed.

All artwork/sfx are ripped from the MMO Growtopia which was created by myself and Mike Hommel

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#157Fun(Jam)3.38
#230Humor(Jam)2.95
#284Audio(Jam)3.24
#376Overall(Jam)3.20
#434Theme(Jam)3.04
#601Graphics(Jam)2.75
#626Mood(Jam)2.53
#658Innovation(Jam)2.33
#1851Coolness32%

Comments

Celt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:37pm

This was quite fun and reminded my...of my own entry?!? But in fun...and with highscore :)

Jhelle says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Nice simple game. Love the various music and the sound effects remind me of those cheesy radio sounds. Also liked the physics after you die.
Good job! :)

geekdrums says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Feedback including audio, voice, music was really nice. And challenging level design was also good!

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:26pm

I don't know why but sometimes i couldnt start the game or even click on the bar to move the scores. It worked when I restarted it two times. Was fun and the music it's pretty nice! Lot of music pieces!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:53pm

I like it, very addictive! Feels ver polished for an LD game, with leaderboard and stuff...

But I for one would rather see it based on Dink Smallwood! ;)
(Long time dinker)

omgnoseat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:17am

Man this is hardcore :p Making a highscore list was a great idea, as it pushed me to give it another try.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:29am

Noooooo i couldnt type my name :(
Im some growtopian with 18k score haha

Nice game

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:57am

The high score table speaks of mean LDs. Very nice.

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:59pm

Simple, funny, and a leaderboard to keep players... playing (smart move)
Good job

randoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Some things seemes a little bit out of place, but liked it. And why the fuck the music switches every 100 meters´╝č hahahaha

Guybrusch says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:17pm

Great sound/music/art.
gj

Kragnir says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:48pm

A game that does what it intends to do. Like the highscore list. Would be nice with maybe one more type of obstacle.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]