Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Monstrenga

by Marcos Rodrigues - Jam Entry

Clementine is a lovely, strange-looking little monster. People are always afraid of what's different, and even though Clementine has a nice heart, they will fear her. She just doesn't want to hurt anybody, can you help her go through these dangerous social events?

========
Credits:

Design and Concept Art: Carol Durandet (http://h4lp.com.br/carol/)
Math, Coding and Sound picking: Marcos Rodrigues (http://mrodrigues.dunked.com/)

Music:
She Is My Best Treasure (by Rolemusic) - http://freemusicarchive.org/music/Rolemusic/The_Pirate_And_The_Dancer/05_rolemusic_-_she_is_my_best_treasure

SFXs generated on BFXR (http://www.bfxr.net/)

Game Engine: Quintus (http://html5quintus.com/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#122Innovation(Jam)3.61
#304Fun(Jam)3.11
#328Mood(Jam)3.13
#393Audio(Jam)3.00
#469Overall(Jam)3.05
#586Theme(Jam)2.67
#589Graphics(Jam)2.79
#1851Coolness32%

Comments

ActionRemix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:12pm

How do we proceed without killing the children?

namuol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:56pm

Nice twist! Great music choice! Would like to see more levels/puzzles.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:29am

ActionRemix, we couldn't find in time a good way to show the humans' line of sight, but you should wait for them to be facing the opposite direction, then climb to a safe spot.

Your comment reinforce the need for a more informative UI, thanks! :)

Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:33am

namuol, thanks! :D
We'll keep on developing, after the votes are finished we'll release a more complete version!

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:44pm

With some more animation, a visible indication of the people's line of sight, and a less eardrum-drilling sound effect for when you're seen, I'd call this gold.

danialhyatt says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:42am

Interesting mechanic! I'd like to see it explored further

ThingoStudios says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:44am

The core idea behind this game is solid. Definitely short, but still really fun. The only real complaint I have is that Clementine's scariness is definitely an informed attribute and I never felt that there was any reason for small children to fear her.

lajos says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:47am

Looks nice, but doesn't load. Bar stuck around 80%, win7 chrome. Same on IE.

May 2, 2014 @ 1:53am

@Jonochrome, wow, thank you! That's great to hear! :D
I'll work a little more on the humans' screaming, it's kinda hard to emulate it on the Bfxr.

LandoSystems says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:29am

Interesting idea, i liked that the lifes weren't your lives. nice change of pace.

hanoth says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:30am

I like the idea behind this.

CrocaDino says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:59am

I think the game mechanic of staying outside of the children's sight is very interesting! However, I noticed a glitch where it is possible to fall through the floor in some areas. Despite this, I still really enjoyed the game and I would've loved to see more levels!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:52am

very cool idea - i was determined to finish and i did - great job!

PaperBlurt says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:21am

So I have to save the little people?
Interesting idea.
But I didn't get it at first...

StrykerKKD says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:46pm

It's really an unique idea.

trueyomic says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:39pm

Neat implementation of a stealth game. Cutesy graphics. The "screaming" sound was a bit harsh on the ears though. Definitely needs more levels too!

Jeff0029 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Great music! You don't feel the loop so that's good.

When faced with the third children, he seemed to kill you when he see's you despite running in the other direction. Hope that help shred light on a bug, good job!

Jeff0029 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 11:40pm

Nvm I think I understand why you die when they do now. hah.

Jeff0029 says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 11:41pm

I think I understand why you die when they do now. My bad ;)

michelfontes says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 12:35am

Very hard, great puzzle! I suck at it, though.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]