Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Deepest Darkest Trench

by trueyomic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Right now the HTML build is running slowly IN FIREFOX so I recommend playing it in Chrome or use the Windows/Mac/Linux version. You can consider playing it in Firefox easymode since everything runs about half speed.

The controls for this game are the arrow keys (UP, DOWN, LEFT, RIGHT).

The object of the game is to get to the very bottom of the map while avoid spikes and urchins. Along the way you can pick up pearls and starfish which act as keys for their respective doors.

Known bugs:

* Urchins can go through doors
* HTML version still has some performance issues in Firefox, but not in Chrome. You can consider playing in Firefox easymode for now since everything runs about half speed.

If I had more time I would have:

* If I knew how to use any music programs I would have created a soundtrack; one for exploring and one for the boss. Possibly also the end of the game.
* Animated more things
* Shaded more things

Addressing common issues people had with the game:
* I can see how the collision is unforgiving. If I was allow more time, I would shrink it a little(maybe 1/4 the current rect); but it's still beatable. I did it with faster urchins than are in the live version!

Let me know in the comments if you found the secret ending ;)(without extracting the files).

Hope you enjoy! Let me know if you have any questions, and I will try to answer them/remedy any issues ASAP!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#542Humor2.45
#618Theme3.20
#706Graphics2.93
#745Overall2.98
#843Audio2.17
#845Fun2.69
#899Mood2.60
#1145Innovation2.17

Comments

greg-anims says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:40am

i like the colors and friendly vibe, it was be cool if it has a story and some characters to talk to or something. i like tapping left+right to swim backwards, its a feature!

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:16am

The collision was really unforgiving, so I didn't get far before getting frustrated.

Enzo42 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:29am

It's so hard!

Kiyaku says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:49am

It looks really cute! My frames slowed down a lot (played in Firefox), especially near the first checkpoint it was like a slideshow. The collider needs to be a little bit smaller too to be a bit more forgiving. But besides that it's a neat little game :D

trueyomic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:50am

Sorry about the difficulty. I did lower the speed of the urchins after watching my wife play, but I beat it multiple times when they were faster. Don't give up!

Woftles says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:44am

Nice oldschool-feeling graphics.

renatopp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:50am

The movement mechanics is pretty weak, you could add some acceleration to it maybe. As it is, there is no real challenge, basically what we do is "walk" and wait. What makes you game hard is the bad collisions and the claustrophobic rooms. Anyway, I think it is a good prototype and I liked the game style.

loggs2 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:50am

Thank you for the generous save locations, it helped keep me playing. I had fun playing. :)

Lolninjacatz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:50am

Great job. You used LibGDX too! The movement is great, love the art and the animations. It seems like its a really large map. It seems like a standard puzzle platforming game. However, I really didn't get to try to the lock mechanic because I couldn't get far enough (I'm bad at platformers, but it felt a little tough; glad you put save points). Big issue is the level design; should make accomplishments at the beginning to give player a sense of progress as well as get a feel for the obstacle difficulty. The mood was set with the art, but some audio would've made it better! Sound is actually really important in a game, I'm realizing. Great job though!

deathray says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57am

Graphics are nice and you can tell there was a lot of thought into level design. I don't typically like these types of games, but I still had fun. The death noise is very annoying though! Since you die so often, it would be nice if dying was less jarring.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58am

html version was playing fine for me (chrome).
Beat the game. Nice, that there was a boss.
Only thing that saved me from frustration was the nice save-system on S and itempickup :)

spotco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:39am

Ran really slow in firefox (but fine in chrome), is that a libgdx problem?

Surprising amount of content (really liked the boss at the end, did not expect), wished there was a bit more variety (sea urchins got a little repetitive by the end.

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:53am

Yup, html version is slow. I liked the feeling of this, pity that it lacks music. Good job anyway :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:26am

Was a fun little romp I did worse at than I'd like to admit. Still, some fun maneuvering, and I did quite like the ending.

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:48pm

I'm playing in firefox, and right when I get to the first save point I get a gradual decrease in framerate. Other than that it seems like a pretty solid game, nice job!

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:11pm

This game is pretty good in my opinon, the art is nice, but a big drawback is that there is no music.

Khopa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Awesome, this is getting really hardcore in the end.
This sleepy fish is a badass !

mariscal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:05pm

I tried the html version an it run smooth :) just some sounds out of sync sometimes. A little bit difficult for me, but overall I liked it! Good work!

Nnoel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:50am

I tried it out. It was ok. Maneuvering through urchins get pretty annoying really quickly, and that made up the whole gameplay.

XrXr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:35am

I finished it :D very nice level design! Simple concept expanded to its fullest, and doesn't overstay its welcome.
Great!

cageinabird says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:37am

As others have said, the collision made things frustrating (on the boss especially), but there was enough variety in the challenges to keep it interesting. Good job!

trueyomic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Thanks for all the awesome reviews guys/gals! If I had the chance, I'd go ahead and change the collision box a bit (for the urchins at least); and if I knew any music tools well, that'd be the #1 thing I'd have added as music is really important in games to me. Thanks for the constructive criticism too; I won't be able to learn from my mistakes without it!

littleball says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:27pm

The collision made it quite difficult. Would have liked to have got further before it got too tricky

ElStevo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:50am

Good game ! but you are right, the collision is really unforgiving

hbocao says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:20am

Damn that was hard to beat. The boss battle was the difficult part. The art and sound matches very neatly. I have to agree that it's some pixel perfect collision right there, but you know... you have to try it harder.

Oh! Also, thanks for commenting on my entry ;)

XenosNS says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:28am

Very cute game! Loved the little twist at the end. The collision area with the starfish was a bit fustrating, especially at the boss battle, thank goodness for infinite tries. Excellent job!

elliottd says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:57am

Movement is kind of stiff, requires a fast twitch reflexes. hit boxes are pretty cruel. you could make them half the size they are and things would feel a lot more natural I think. Felt like a complete experience, though I had to brute force the boss and felt really drained by the end. Good job!

ninjascript says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:34pm

That's a challenging game! I would have appreciated some UI telling me how many pearls or starfish I had.

May 2, 2014 @ 6:23pm

It is a cool concept and it looks good! However, I don't particularly like this kind of game so I am probably not the best reference. The precision needed to pass some of the enemies is to harsh. But it looks very broad!

alect says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:32pm

The level design was pretty engaging considering the small number of elements.

gmaker says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:57pm

great job! tooo hard for me =) but it so cute fish) i liked palette you used!

mjau says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:16pm

The collision detection is pretty unforgiving.. it'd help a lot if you made the bounds of the fish smaller, i think.

Also, the controls felt a bit imprecise for some of the things you're asked to do. The collision detection doesn't help, but i think it's also due to the speed of the fish. If it had some slight inertia (not too much!), so it didn't jump straight from zero to full speed, it'd be easier to position the fish more accurately.

Bug: Horizontally moving spikes has a bright line flashing on the left hand side (web version in chromium)

Anyway, it was still enjoyable =). Thanks for the generous save spots =)

jsspiegel says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Nice little platformer!

matt_j says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:51am

Cute, but tricky due to large hitboxes.

anvoz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:50am

Nice graphics. The idea is good but it's quite hard for me to beat the game.

x1212 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:42am

One of the games where I permanently ask myself: "It's not that hard, why do I keep failing?"

But well done! (also for supporting all those platforms)

Zerkruemler says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:31am

Remembers me of old C=64 Games which where quite hard to master. Also the sound effects remind me of the 'good old times'. Maybe you should go also for a 'retro' style graphics... Just an idea.
Since I am not so young anymore I have not played very far because I like more forgiving games now.

Chronoberry says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Love the fish animation. I think the collision boxes are a little bigger than the sprite, so it's hard to avoid obstacles.

May 8, 2014 @ 7:46pm

Yay, I like my little new peaceful trench.

It was quite a frustrating journey, as many have pointed out, because of the collisions. Also, the gameplay mechanics have been done over and over (except for the boss battle!)

Some comments about the level design:
-Designing levels with keys generally feels like lazy design, since it basically just makes you go through the same thing twice. Which brings me to the next point:
-Some places had the same challenges a couple of times in a row, (like several urchins in the same amount of space) which is also not very good level design. More variation, thank you!
-More kinds of enemies = more variation! I know it might be challenging to program more enemies, but it does a lot for making the game feel more alive.

But with that said, let me just say one more thing: BOSS BATTLE! That was awesome! I was so surprised at seeing that.

JaJ says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:35am

It's possible to get stuck when you use a key on the wrong door, there also wasn't a lot of variaty. Other than that, a solid entry.

May 11, 2014 @ 8:32pm

Cute little fishy game :) I included it in part 24 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/a1xd0I3_xtY

KevinWorkman says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 12:10am

This is an impressive start. Like others have said the movement and hit boxes need some polishing to make them more fun, but this is great work for 2 days!

trueyomic says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Thanks again for all the constructive criticism! Again, most of the design and lack of variety came from lack of time (and I had a headcold the whole time) so I was only able to make one enemy (and the boss wasn't too hard to build from that).

I am aware of the possibility to get stuck if you use keys outside of the area that you are in; I tried to minimize that; had I more time I would have made at least one more key to solve that or implemented metroidvania-like abilities like I'd have liked to in the original plans.

I'm also aware that you can carry one of the keys to the near end for use in a hidden area... ;)

May 17, 2014 @ 2:16pm

The hitboxes could be really improved. The "platformer" would work better if there was gravity and thrust.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]