Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Leagues Above

by BumbleBirds - Jam Entry

It's Bird VS Fish in this heated battle! Use what nature gave you to suffocate or drown your opponent in this hyper-realistic fighting sim! Local multiplayer only. It's too much to handle on your own.

PLAYER-1 CONTROLS:
W,A,S,D to Move
E to Attack

PLAYER-2 CONTROLS:
I,J,K,L to Move
U to Attack

Credits:
Game by Bumblebirds
Music by EliteFerrex

Thanks to @moshboy for the inspiration too!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#13Fun(Jam)4.08
#34Overall(Jam)3.98
#65Audio(Jam)3.88
#80Innovation(Jam)3.74
#81Graphics(Jam)4.24
#123Theme(Jam)3.67
#138Mood(Jam)3.62
#144Humor(Jam)3.23

Comments

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:53am

Awesome! I lose the players of the sides of the screen sometimes... Get some controller support and it would be a fun lunch game at the office!

Hermes says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:57am

Awesome!
I love it!

urisensei says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:16am

lots of fun! Cool visuals and sound as well!

harleylaurie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:16am

House-mate and I had a ton of fun versing each other in this.
its awesome!

mneubrand says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:19am

Nice gameplay and graphics. Took a while to figure out what's going on. Some sort of health indicator would be nice. Played quite a bit with my wife :)

magicspark says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:24am

Great concept, great art and fun game! Good job!

BumbleBirds says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:32am

Pad support and breath meters were on the to-do list but we ran out of time, glad you're all enjoying it anyway :D

zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:44am

super polished and pretty! I love the simple asymmetric gameplay.

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:45am

Super cool! The style is clean, the visuals are pretty, and the game is really fun.

AGDG_REJECT says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:51am

A very nice game. I especially like the art, although the music is also well done. A single player mode would have been nice for those of use who don't have friends.

tehryanx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:52pm

really fun :D I'd keep this on the ready fjor company if it had gamepad support.

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Nice use of the theme :D, and grat graoùphics too :D

Jyrkface says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Great game! Would love to see a finished version with some more gameplay options :)

mollymus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:58pm

Great concept and nice graphics! Good job!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Wow tight game! Loved the music as well!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:10pm

I like it. I didn't have anyone to play with so I kinda just used both controlls myself :)

pLaw says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:12pm

This is an overall great game entry. You have my respect, sirs. Best thing I've seen this LD so far.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Love local multiplayer!!!!!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:05pm

Cool game, I love the colorful graphics! Played it with my little brother, was a lot of fun! :)

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:43am

I don't have a second player with me, so I don't know how to fairly judge the 'fun' factor as the game intended, but I liked messing around with the two sides and the game has a very nice feel.

01010111 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:14am

I only have myself to play with, but from what I gather, this is a really cool game! I think maybe better attack animations and a larger play area would really benefit the fast action :D

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Bookmarked! I like everything in this game, one of the best I played

ninjacharlie says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Awesome! The visuals were great and I had a lot of fun playing this one. Good job :D

May 3, 2014 @ 12:13am

I like the colourful background graphics here. Seems really fun (I don't have anyone else to play with), the gameplay is smooth and the presentation is really slick. Nice music too!

May 3, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Very cool! Nice job implementing the local multiplayer.

May 3, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Nice concept! I like the art style.

stvr says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Pretty fun! A bit fidgety to control, but that's ok.

Kerdelos says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Awesome game ! Sometimes the bird dies without being hit by the fish and in my opinion it's easier to knock out the fish but those are minor things. Controller support would have made it perfect !

Lacaranian says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:23pm

For me, the music made this one. Cool art too!

Rodaja says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Really fun game. It does seem easier for the fish, though.

cavf88 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:13pm

I love the graphics, colours and mechanics! I wish I had somebody to play with right now. lol

May 15, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Really fun ^^

May 17, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Very nice graphics.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]