Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Surface.

by Teejay5 - Jam Entry

LOCAL MULTIPLAYER.
Ruled beneath a tyrant (literally), you must fight to the death, for the amusement of your ruler. So, grab a comrade and fight. FOR GLORY
WILL YOU COME OUT ALIVE?

Or will you be shattered?

seriously i don't think you know what you're getting into by playing this game

To best serve your leader, you must know the controls.
Player 1 movement is WASD. Jump is the spacebar. Player 1 shooting is done with 'c'. Or is it 'v'? I forgot but it's most likely 'c'.
Oh, and spin is LEFT SHIFT. SPINNING IS VERY IMPORTANT, DON'T FORGET IT. YOUR USE OF THE SPIN ABILITY IS THE DETERMINING FACTOR BETWEEN LIFE AND DEATH. like it's actually important

Oh and Player 2 movement is P,L,;, and ' . yes, I know those are the weirdest buttons I could've used, but hey, keyboards are small and not build for two people. That's why I'm adding controller support.
Player 2 shoots with the comma button, jumps with LEFT ALT, and spins with LEFT SHIFT. dont forget that player 2. >:|


TL;DR this is a 2 player game and spinning is very important.
To change the controls, go to the input tab on the splash screen! or plug in a controller (i think controllers work)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#27Humor(Jam)3.95
#401Theme(Jam)3.10
#405Fun(Jam)2.95
#429Graphics(Jam)3.24
#438Innovation(Jam)2.85
#524Audio(Jam)2.65
#540Overall(Jam)2.92
#549Mood(Jam)2.75
#1823Coolness33%

Comments

Snoother says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Well, that was quite a revolution. And the character selection was a surprising twist. I was practically rolling on the floor in laughter. Must admit, though, at times it felt like the fight was spiralling out of control.

Okay, I think I've worn out the puns about spinning.

In all seriousness, I had a whirl of a time.

TobiasW says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Yo, Teejay! Cool to see another game of yours, I missed you in the LD 28! And yeah, graphics and humor up to the usual level! The gameplay was a bit hard to control this time though - even playing alone against an unmoving enemy, it took me forever to kill it...

PS: Please, beat box sound effects oder music in the next entry, haha. I like that opening!

May 2, 2014 @ 11:49pm

The Ipaddysters send their regards.

Wacky fighting mechanics, but the characters and "plot twist" right at the start made this one of my favorite games so far. And i've played -a lot- of'em.

cheesepencil says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:43am

Wow, what a strange game, yet endearing.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:27am

Haha, I'm glad to see someone else who tried to bring the Surface into their game somehow. I had to play this one player, but it was still pretty funny. Nice work.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Well, that was a thing. What a great intro song...

May 5, 2014 @ 12:36am

Hey! The Surface is featured on my "favorites" post

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/05/04/my-favorite-ld29-games/

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]