Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Vinnie the Virus

by vanZeben - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to Vinne the Virus! You play as vinnie, the virus who has gone *beneath the surface* of the skin to invade the blood stream.


-- Controls --
To move simply click where you want to move to and vinnie will do the rest.


-- Objectives --
- Stay away from the White blood cells as they will attempt to hunt and destroy you.

- Capture red blood cells to turn them into your allies. Allies will take hits from a white blood cell for you, if one get's too close...

- Take your infected army to attack the brain hidden in the arteries!



I had planned to do a lot more with this game but time constraints played a factor, including no music/sounds :( Hopefully I get some post-LD work done on this and polish it up, because I really like the concept


The whole 48 hours was streamed & recorded on my twitch page if you want to check it out: (http://live.vanZeben.ca)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#212Theme3.66
#272Innovation3.48
#332Humor2.80
#412Overall3.32
#462Graphics3.30
#508Fun3.07
#619Mood2.92
#899Audio2.00

Comments

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:25am

Some sweet music would've made this game great!

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:41am

before I knew it I was chasing all the little blobs and having a fun time.. until the white blood cells. those basterds

eldog says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:41am

That was fun :-)

I like the idea of being cute and murder of a human at the cellular level.

I like to imagine we were inside the colon, is that disgusting?

hexagore says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:08am

Fun, building up a big chain of cells and infecting a brain? Sorted.

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:38am

Most innovative game I've played this LD so far. It's like take on snake with moving food and ghosts from Pacman! :-D Nice graphics and really good job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:40am

Cute and gross at the same time. Would have preferred the controls to be WASD/Arrow keys but mouse did the job :)

buhb11 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:53pm

This game rocks!Thx for the live stream!

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:36am

Really great! So elegant and fun :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:07pm

Pretty fun little game! I found the clicking controls to be a bit odd though.

loxo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Great game. I like the idea and the graphics very much. While playing the first time a got confused, because I instinctively always thought the red blood cells are the enemies. It took a while to accept that red is good :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]