Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Surface / Warm

by finefin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I know this is not quite compliant to the rules of Ludum Dare.
First, I didn't code myself, I used Twine http://twinery.org/
Except for some of the simple css-effects I wrote, all the credits go to the awesome people who make that tool!

And then I used a story from the Public Domain (Robert Sheckley 'Warm' (1953) http://www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/29509 ) and transformed it to a game. Most of the text is from the original story, simply rewritten to second person and present tense. I am fascinated by that story since I read it in my youth and it influenced my view on this universe, this planet, earthlings and all the absurdities your brain has to deal with.

When I read the theme "Beneath the Surface", this story came to my mind immediately. I also wanted to try Twine for a long time. So this is what exists now. Or does it? I hope you have some strange kind of fun ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#137Mood3.66
#563Humor2.43
#618Theme3.20
#641Fun2.93
#648Innovation2.93
#825Overall2.91
#1122Graphics2.22

Comments

Christophe says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 11:50pm

At the begging I was just clicking not reading just because I wanna a read the final end (so lazy)! But after I realized it looped, I start reading. That was a special experience. It was bewitching.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:30am

Nice little story, but I feel that there's no need for two options as I get directed towards the "right" one anyway.

Nothing wrong with just clicking instead of having options that don't matter.

Other than that: Good job....

finefin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:33am

thanks, PaperBlurt. Although there are several ways to fail the main story (SPOILER! and the idea was the infinite loop /SPOILER!), I understand that I could have done a lot more, especially when experiencing interactive stories like yours.
As this is my very first Twine project, I guess I'll download your source and learn from it ;)

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:22pm

It is very linear, but that kind of worked for me. And the whole loop thing is pretty cool. Also it's an interesting use of the theme.

Oh, and nice use font effects and font variety -- something so many Twine games neglect.

Bekokstover says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:59pm

This is a great story to turn into a Twine adventure, and I don't think it's that bad that you used it. That's creativity! The way you implemented the words as if he's losing his mind really do the trick. I feel weird now. Really weird.

TobiasW says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:31pm

Well, that was a great experience! It sounds like you've taken a lot from the original story, but converting it into interactive fiction format probably still took a lot of work. It felt a bit too much guided though - I guess that's the price you pay when you take a linear story as a source.

Thanks a lot for sharing this!

caryoscelus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:19pm

I think i'm going to like this.. As for rules - i think you should've put this into jam category and it would be totally fine.

finefin says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:24am

you're right, I should have submitted this as a jam.
oh well, who cares, this won't win any prices anyway, I guess :) I made you read one of my favourite short stories, so my secret mission is accomplished!

gre says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:57am

Nice job, I explored all the paths, you made a nice work transforming the story into an interactive story game.

schnüt says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:08am

Fascinating story, nicely presented. :-)

jtpup0 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:12am

That was deep, really liked the story

Boodog says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Good job!

Thorig says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:16am

Good job.

SyBen says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:16am

Nice story, the looping is in a fact a nice improvment to the story telling.

petey123567 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:24pm

that was interesting!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]