Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Senilescape

by Xaychru04 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are an old gangster, locked up in a prison for 42 years, and you suddenly find a way to get out of the cell. Your goal is to escape and stay beneath the surface so you don't get killed.

(There is no preloader and the filesize is 6Mb, so it might take some time to download)

Enjoy! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#4Audio4.31
#12Fun4.18
#18Overall4.15
#35Mood4.05
#49Theme3.99
#57Humor3.75
#57Graphics4.26
#583Innovation3.03

Comments

gwa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:37am

Wow really cool I rely like the controls I know how hard this can be. Cool game.
Good Luck!

skiesgamingtv says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Fun, fast and skilled platformer :) Nice ideas ! I got a few lags after playing a while, might come from the browser though? Using chrome.
Good luck for the votes !
Here is my (french) review :
http://youtu.be/m2nlqVsFXQ4

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Dude, well done. Really well paced and exciting game: really the core mechanic is pretty standard, but the tunes, the lighting, and the pacing makes it really fun! And the spike death sequence is so good I did it 5 times in a row just to watch it.

Belvar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:10pm

Really hard but fun and dynamic. It looks great and the music is cool.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Really fun, the music perfectly compliments the manic gameplay.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:08pm

Really great job! It is well polished and fluid.

mr_tag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:10pm

nice blood splatter effects

shane1090 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Really enjoyed playing this game! That damn helicopter! Love the music and the graphic style.

alvarop says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:57am

Couldn't get the game to run for some reason... huh

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:14am

Thanks for the feedback, I'm glad you liked the game! :)
@alvarop: Did you wait a little for it to load? The filesize is quite big...

7elephants says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Great game, congrats! Loved the intro :D

thx4nothing says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:26pm

I really like the music :D

BoTreats says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:28pm

This is great! That song!! Looks awesome, lots of fun, and keeps explicitly reminding you how on track it is with the theme.

AugustSnow says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:31pm

Great game! loved the play with above\beneath the surface, running different risks

radmars says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:41pm

bahaahah! fuckin' great. Super tight controls, great audio & gamefeel~ lovely little details in the death animation, and infuriating meat-boy-y level design. T.T aweosme.

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:51pm

Amazing

BoneDaddy says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Daring! Amazing! I loved this. I think it's the best I've played so far. I can't think of anything critical to say. I guess the controls aren't my favourite (too slippery I guess) but the game is just great. I loved it, and I beat it. It felt amazing, the feeling of running away is great. 10/10

borrismoose says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:36pm

I'm a sucker for platformers and I hadn't played one from this round of LD yet, so I'm glad I started with this one. Really well executed all round, although I too thought the controls were a bit slippery at times. Nitpicking though, great job!

hexagore says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:03am

Great pixel art, genuinely exciting. Took me many many goes to get through level 3 and by level 4 it was way beyond my skill to complete. Enjoyable though.

Aaants says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:35pm

Great game! There's a heroic amount of work for 48 hours. You'd get 6 stars for effort if there was a category for it!

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:53pm

Greatest soundtrack. Made me almost rage quit a few times, especially in the first helicopter level. It feels like the controls are a bit off, that old fart doesn't seem to jump exactly when I want him to. Old bastard.

Really enjoyed it!

CluelessGames says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:41am

A lot of fun very well done. The game puts you under constant pressure below or above the ground which guides the game along nicely Overall polished to a shine love it!

gikdew says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:44am

One of the best ones out there!

mrfriedfish says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:49am

controls takes getting used to but it's fun nonetheless... great game! memory problems aside you can continue developing it...

timtipgames says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:53am

Great game, but extremely difficult for me towards the end :) Lovely graphics and audio!

Zccc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Amazing, altough cheap at some places! Very well done.

Simon@LD says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Saw this game on the TimTips-stream, really enjoyed it!

Rad Star says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Loved it. Nice music, cool pixel art, fun to play. Well done!

Kerdelos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Nervous gameplay and nervous music, I love it ! I also love the fact that some time you can just go up and dodge the helicopter. The only criticism I can make is that sometimes the controls are too reactive and it's hard to control the character.

Lyje says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:53pm

Seriously good platforming physics - solid tight controls! Really enjoyed this one and I kept wanting to be a rebel and try and chance it with the chopper. Nope!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:51pm

high marks for fun and theme - great job!

alvarop says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:01pm

You... I like your game.

GagaPete says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Pretty intense game. While I wrote this comment I switched the tab to the game to play again five times. Awesome game, nice music and great graphics.

Yword says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Very cool music and it fits the game perfectly! The gameplay is very fun and addictive too!

Snoother says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:09pm

You really nailed the tension. The music and platforming just perfectly suit the premise, which in itself is a pretty good take on the theme. Well done.

Cake&Code says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:21pm

That was a lot of fun! I got to the third level where you can choose to go above the surface or beneath ground and while the surface was random change of getting hit by the helicopter it was a lot more fun :)

jujule says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:30pm

I wrote down your name because I saw one of your posts during the compo. I'm glad I did. Solid game: perfect controls, good grpahics and good music. Jolly good fun.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Wow! Really well done! Art, music, and gameplay are just phenomenal.

BadgerPriest says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:08am

Oh wow, this is amazingly polished. I wish I could get past the third stage, but my reflexes just ain't good enough.

May 7, 2014 @ 4:22pm

You are featured in today's episode of "Ludumdare to Believe" by the Button Masher Bros! Check it out at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RsYGv849RzM

Lukbebalduke says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:22pm

I saw your game in https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RsYGv849RzM. Good work, but I cant play it, just a white screen in the link.
But, what I saw in the video was a nice game, good graphics , sounds and verry funny.

matt_j says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:55am

Really difficult, but beautiful and polished! Go Haxe!

jsmars says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:58am

Really great game here! Nice job! Great graphics and challanging game and great music! Really hard tho, but that I like!

rincewind_cz says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Yep, very polished game in every category :-)

ActionRemix says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:23pm

Some of these sections seem impossible. :|

More checkpoints, or easier jumps would help.

Sheepolution says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Really cool game. I'm not sure if I agree with the character sliding, it made the controls rather annoying. But other than that the game was really, really good!

gre says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:41pm

Very cool graphics.
Nice rushing game.
Very fun take on the theme.
Nice platform challenges.

Team-KwaKwa says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Really funny :), I enjoy it!

Pitoum says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Wow! Nice speed platformer! Well played :)

May 18, 2014 @ 7:38am

Fun fast paced game which was really difficult once you started being chased by the helicopter but great to play.

Jeremias says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Addictive platformer. I love the art style but it's quite hard to play. I wish you had implemented a "skip level" function, so I can see more of your levels :D

May 20, 2014 @ 7:35am

Needs WASD control.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]