Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Scout

by cardboard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're a bunny named Scout. Explore your limited world.

=================== instructions ================
- click things to interact (not everything does something)
- click the edges of the screen to 'rotate' your view

if you get an error saying "MSVC120.dll is missing" installing
MSV++ 2010 might fix it:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.aspx?id=5555
============================================

The theme is not present; the parts of the game relating to
the theme didn't make it in. There is no ending, depending on
how you look at it. Coincidentally, the ending was where the
theme would more obviously come into play. So once you get a
bit "Beneath the Surface" you've gone as far as you can go,
which isn't very far. Think about this deeply because it's
probably a metaphor.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#67Mood3.87
#101Graphics4.00
#133Audio3.54
#535Innovation3.09
#717Overall3.00
#856Fun2.67
#1226Theme1.88

Comments

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:44am

For some reason I'm having trouble cloning your Git repo. Is it just me? Who knows. (and that screenshot looks so inviting)

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:42am

Nice drawings!

eugman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:00pm

It was a very cute game and an interesting idea. It's a shame you couldn't fully flesh it out.

lorancou says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:46pm

No idea how to play that. I suppose I should try to install Python and so on but I'd just like to play the game without having to do such grunt work.

thenmal says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:49pm

File "game.py", line 276
loop = True
^
TabError: inconsistent use of tabs and spaces in indentation

f7f5 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:52pm

I like the drawings and the idea, but the system needs more polish. I got out of the original cage and don't really know how I did it.

ryangatts says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:00pm

Works on Windows. I like the drawings and the music.

Sparrow says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:13am

Wow great mood, now I know what a rabbit feels like. I like the art you made for this and the music fits. I would definitely love to see more of this story. you might want to put some explanations in the game of how you move around because it isn't very clear.

drnick says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Good, unfortunate you couldn't finish it on time.
How do I pass through the hole in the fence?

Zerkruemler says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Nice Idea and relaxing music. When you click something it is sometimes funny, sometimes confusing. The orientation feels very difficult. Navigation is more try and error than knowing the surroundings. Is this how a bunny feels?
Keep on the good work!

Airwaffle says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Really dig the music and unique style of the game! Really cute myst-like, which I would love to see a more fleshed out and polished version of (not polished graphical! the limited graphical style is super neat and should stay the same)

ccglp says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Nice pictures, I wish that you can finish this game post compo! ;)

ActionRemix says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 8:29am

I beat it! (With step-by-step help from the author)

The two puzzles are ungodly tough, but its pleasant storybook appearance won me over. There is even world-building with the bunny linguistics, however it is so well-hidden that likely no players will discover on their own.

May 8, 2014 @ 9:44am

Please keep working on this game, it is amazing so far! I absolutely love the art style, the puzzles and the setting!

whendricso says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 7:53am

MSVC120.dll missing - game won't run :(

cardboard says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:11am

@whendricso - I believe that means you're missing MS Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable, which you can get here (for x86 at least): http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.aspx?id=5555

goerp says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 8:50am

Oh dear, I have an idea where this is going.
Are you going to finish this? I like the graphics and music, so it's a good start. And I'm curious how this will progress (and if I'm right).

EpiphanyG says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 10:42am

Beautiful game. Would love to see where it was heading.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 2:26am

This looks really promising, it took me a while to orient myself (but that could be because I'm not used to point and click adventures) but I'm saving this page to see if you do a post-compo version!

Striwx says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Nice, maybe it's was hard to understand where you are !

ashdnazg says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 10:22pm

Your graphic style and concept are wonderful and the music is breathtaking. I'm pretty sure the puzzles and game are well thought, but I'm afraid I didn't feel I know what's going on (perhaps that's how a bunnies live?)
Moving between the views, it was hard for me to understand what my surrounding look like, and once I kinda understood where I am, and who's around me (he ivet!) it seems I clicked the right (???) place and moved somewhere else entirely.
I think I understood the pushing things puzzle, but couldn't guess it will cause a stairway to drop from above.

All in all, it seems the game is well made but there's a lot behind it that just went over my head. Making it a bit more friendly to a halfwit like me could have improved my experience.

Good job!

mrjohnson22 says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 5:27pm

This was a good game that got held back by poor execution. For every good thing about it, there's something bad to match. For instance, the hand-drawn artwork is very nice, but it gives rise to inconsistencies between screens that make it hard to tell where you are relative to your surroundings. The puzzles are cool, but they're far too cryptic to be solved without a helping hand (thanks for helping people out, by the way!). The mood and setting were charming, but as soon as things start to get interesting, the game ends!

With that said, you still gave a very good effort, and it's clear that this could have been a lot better had you been given a bit more time. So keep at it!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]