Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Adventures in Down and Up

by hnjslater - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It was always going to be a challenge, my mum's 60th was on Saturday so that was the whole day written off and I spent four hours travelling home today (Sunday) but I was on a coach with a power socket so I could still work! I had a go at a platformer and it's a least playable if not super fun!

To make it work on a debian type OS (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint) you should just need to install python-pygame and run python main.py

To make it work on windows, unzip it and run main.exe

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#408Humor2.65
#661Fun2.90
#700Theme3.10
#816Mood2.70
#1124Overall2.52
#1178Innovation2.07
#1185Graphics2.00

Comments

johnhackworth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:22am

You have included the github source on the "web" link! create a branch called "gh-pages", push it to github, and you'll have it published on https://ghnjslater.github.io/adventures-in-down-and-up

hnjslater says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Good point, updated to be source link. I'll add windows today.

tompudding says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Pretty good! Simple but the theme obviously applies. I would have liked the horizontal motion to be a bit less "sticky" (i.e motion stops as soon as you release the key), but otherwise pretty good.

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:08am

Someone else using pygame, nice :-).
For packaging up I can recommend cx_freeze., it's not perfect but for a windows build it works pretty well.

As for the game, I wasn't able to get very far, I could not make the long diagonal jump. But a decent entry for one day of work :-).

deadarius says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:20am

Can we have compiled version?

IamAcoconut says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:35pm

My windows smart screen prevents me from playing it, but it looks pretty cool.

metkis says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:09am

Kinda fun, quick little game. I enjoyed my brief time with it and took the time to beat it.

ReactorScram says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:10am

The jump physics required some learning but I got to the win screen.

I'm going to give you middling scores for now since you're my first rating.

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:31am

Double jump was a little odd, ended up just mashing the up button to do it.

pvwradtke says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:35am

Well, I guess I was in for a surprise. Getting out of the pit was simple, yet an effective idea for the theme. Short, as anything out a 48hrs jam packed with family events, but interesting. However, I couldn't run it with pygame, but the Windows binary worked just fine Wine.

May 6, 2014 @ 9:20pm

Isn't the game running too fast? All of the actors felt like they were moving roughly 1.25x-1.5x the speed they should have been moving.

Good job getting this out in that short weekend!

Boodog says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Good work! It's a bit weird though.

May 7, 2014 @ 1:02am

Great! But I agree with Boodog. The art is... odd.

lucidlarva says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:17am

Pretty fun, almost broke my up arrow key with that jumping.

abayb says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 12:00am

I had a very difficult time with this, but I beat it!

jtpup0 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:35am

That last platform was tricky, and the game as a whole expressed the theme sufficiently

granut100 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:44pm

Fun to play. Some of the double jumping was a bit off though.

romandtom says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:10am

Well this is a cool game!
But too short :(

SenorDiablo says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 5:48pm

yeah!! I win! sweet!

garygreen says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Straightforward, but effective & with a nice progression too. That last platform was tricksy! :-)

pichifino says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 11:09am

Like it!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]