Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

SpoonWalker

by squale - Jam Entry

The Arch, humanity last hope against the drought that came upon the world. But the shadow of death is lurking, everybody on earth is starving and the council decided that there is only one solution. The ban of all that are considered to be useless.
And so, like many others before you, you've been banned. Left to die outside the walls with nothing but a spoon !
But that won't stop you ! You're gonna dig and make your way back to the Arch.

Team : Seb, Greg, Squale, Hash

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#309Theme(Jam)3.28
#528Audio(Jam)2.63
#610Innovation(Jam)2.48
#655Graphics(Jam)2.54
#680Overall(Jam)2.54
#688Mood(Jam)2.25
#726Fun(Jam)2.04
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:56am

Lol you have a good idea!

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:39am

Woohoo! Remappable keys! Thanks.

While it may be unintended, the ability to bypass most of the level by jumping above the top edge of the screens reminds of SMB3.

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:24pm

cool! got really stuck swinging on the roots though, it's pretty flakey there

schnüt says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Quite some dead ends if you don't dig the right way. Beside from that, it's allright.

skymen says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Pretty cool game. Good idea, nice visuals and audios and good atmosphere. Well made. Good job

davidB says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Thanks for keymap and Linux version.
I rich some bugs, (jump, jump... at start, some place where I can't "backward").
Good job for a "learning construct2 week-end".

Sestren says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:16am

I really like the music.

mcapraro says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 10:53pm

neat game. would be nice if the keys defaulted to WASD but overall, nice entry!

Tomski says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Good character animation

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]