Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon Maze Shooter

by Huder - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a simple top down shooter with randomly generated maze like dungeons. You must collect treasures to gain score.
WSAD - movement
LMB - gunfire


Source version is little newer it has bug fix. Game wasn't ending when you won. Source can be compiled using Game Maker: Studio Standard or higher.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#427Fun3.16
#544Overall3.19
#579Mood2.96
#592Graphics3.12
#750Audio2.38
#899Innovation2.60
#909Theme2.80
#972Humor1.81
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

spotco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46am

Nice concept, pretty fun fighting the first few enemies with circle strafing. Would have liked to have seen more mechanics and enemy types. Also, 80+ treasures is too much!

This is the first 2D game that made me motion sick, lol. Was that jittery-ness when moving intentional?

Gaeel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:50am

Hey, that was a nice spin on the top-down shooter style, here's a quick run down of my thoughts:

The enemies take too long to kill, but there aren't enough of them. I have this fun laser gun, but it takes ages to take a baddie out, on the other hand, there aren't really enough enemies to feel overwhelmed by the odds.
(This is a tip I learnt from the guys at Vlambeer, very obvious in the design of Nuclear Throne)

I like the view, the way everything pans around (instead of rotating the camera), it's tight and claustrophobic, which definitely conveys tension and disorientation.

The mouse control is interesting, it feels like there's a maximum rotate speed, or even that the speed is fixed. It might confuse some players (mouse controls generally mean your movement scales with the mouse movement), but here I felt it gave weight to the character, adding to the tension and claustrophobia.

Overall, could be a fun experience with maybe some weapon pickups, ammo management or more enemies, got a Teleglitch vibe from this.

Pro-tip:
Ludum Dare is an international event, and many of your players (myself included) use non-qwerty keyboard layouts. Here's a great way to support this:
Up: up, w, z
Left: left, a, q
Down: down, s
Right: right, d

Bind the key sets to the actions instead of single-key to action, and you're good to go!

Huder says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:34am

@spotco
"Was that jittery-ness when moving intentional?"
No it wasn't, tried to fix this but can't :(
@Gaeel
Thanks for tips, i always thought WSAD is international, because every fps game using this.

elpaulo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Loved the graphics. It was a bit difficult to read the map, and i would have loved a run button ^^

Huder says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:30pm

@elpaulo yes i totally forgot to implement running :D

raulincze says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:09pm

This is waaay more fun than it looks at the first sight. Also the graphics are just... right...

In my opinion it would have helped for the game's dynamic to increase the density of the enemies, and maybe make them a little bit easier.

And for some reason, I've kind of liked that the ground texture was shaking.

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:12pm

So fun, the movement is very good designed, good work :)

recursor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:12pm

You forgot to provide a link to your source code.It is required for compo entries.

Hayawi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Beautiful concept, I would really love to see this made into a post compo. On a side note, the screen jittering was annoying D:

Huder says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:53pm

@recursor Thanks, i uploaded source

mogwai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:13pm

Fun game. Controls + movement feels very solid, gives me flashbacks to older fps's with twitch aiming and lots of strafing. A multiplayer version would be awesome.

recursor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Cool pixel shooter.

recursor says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:35pm

This is a good start to a pretty cool pixel shooter, but the enemies feel a little too powerful at the beginning. I really like how you did the player's weapon fire. I was running around shooting at nothing just because I thought it looked neat. Oooh...multiplayer with this might indeed be fun...

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:53pm

I liked this one, simplistic and fun to play. My only gripe is that the minimap should rotate with the player.

demonshanker2 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Interesting control with the mouse rotating the camera instead of just have a static rotation and having the character rotate. The camera did seem a little jittery however.

Boodog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Good work! I liked the graphics and how the camera is!

Cirrial says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Interesting concept, the jittering camera was a little weird but kind of made things feel more intense. Run button would have been nice. I really would like to second the projectile effects being very nice. Is there a way to heal in this game that I missed?

Huder says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:09pm

I found why camera is jittery that because camera position in Game Maker is integer :/ so it will never look smooth on low resolution like here.

Huder says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:12pm

@Cirrial yes this white box on first screen is an aid kit

roaet says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:18am

Jittery movement made me feel kind of sick but it was a fun game. Were the levels randomly generated always? I'd like to see more weapons. Good stuff.

Huder says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:43pm

@roaet yes level is always generated, do you have some issue with generation?

Shivur says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:34am

Funny game!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]