Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dig Down

by CogComp - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Dig Down! (Beneath the surface)
Dig your way down beneath the surface, through 100 platforms!

Made in 13 hours!

The aim of the game is to work your way down through the 100 platforms without dying.

You die instantly when an enemy touches you or if you accidentally open up the explosion combo.

To make your way to the next level you have to find the pair of keys beneath the surface of the blocks (or find the random hole pair).

Any other pair of blocks will most likely harm you in some manner!
Like reversing your controls...


The game is a combination of memory skills needed to remember where the key blocks were and reactions to avoid the enemies.

Good luck!

The game was made using:
* FlashDevelop
* Haxe/OpenFL
* LMMS
* Audacity
* Bfxr
* Gimp
* Sculptris

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#236Innovation3.54
#507Audio2.85
#641Fun2.93
#653Humor2.30
#659Theme3.15
#717Overall3.00
#852Mood2.65
#912Graphics2.61

Comments

Shire says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:00am

It seems like you've got something really cool here, but the enemy sprites are just too big for the area you have to maneuver. Also you have no idea when you drop down to the next level really so it's hard to plan out your landing. I died a lot

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:03am

cool idea. love the small little guy

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:05am

Tricky, but got reasonably far-ish (~20). Some of the enemy placement is just plain mean :p Nifty though!

alshirah says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:08am

I liked it from first try

headchant says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:08am

I like the idea. The enemies are really hard to dodge though.

okkolobr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Can't get past through the 3rd floor. I fall directly on the evil butterfly or can't dodge him later. Maybe need a little tweak in the control precision and space between platform so that you can hav a chance of jumping ahead ennemie. Nice mix of gameplay though, good job !

Sodaware says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Like the idea, I just wish it wasn't so difficult. The enemies are large, and then the other tiles (instant death, reverse controls etc) make it even harder. Would have been nice to have some positive powerups.

Other than the difficulty, it's quite a fun concept that nicely mixes platforming with memory matching puzzles. Love the graphics too :)

l3dx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:20am

Good idea, but really hard. I couldn't make it any longer than level 3

BUNN1E5 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:20am

Loved it!
The game was very fun! And I love the gameplay mechanic of matching the tiles!

yo_milo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:10am

A really great game with a lot of untapped potential!! I really would like to see a polished version of this.

Boodog says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:13pm

Good job!

SmilingCat says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Nice graphics, interesting concept. I think you have the start of something interesting here.

May 1, 2014 @ 7:02pm

It wasn't very clear to me, that you had to match tiles for them to take effect. Also, tile-revealing seemed a bit buggy.

Quite a nice idea though, and some wicked retro graphics :D

Sound effects were sadly more annoying than helpful. I guess I just tire of bfxr effects quickly.

01010111 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:18pm

Really interesting game! Love the idea, love the art, but the enemies are a little tricky. Great job!

MintArcade says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Looks cool for 13 hours of work. Enemies are a bit big.

pvwradtke says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Hey, this is simple to pick up, with good controls and a challenging mechanic. Was surprised when controls were reversed.I have to agree with the comment that says the enemies sprites are too large, maybe if they were 70% of their current size the game would me even more enjoyable.

small trouble says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Enemys sprites are a bit big, making the game more diffcult. But I like the way the main character looks.

ccglp says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:23pm

The idea is cool, but the game turns very quickly into a very hard game

Ariake81 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:57pm

good effort, great ideas that lend themselves well to the time limit of a game jam. badboy sound fx!!

Photon says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 6:59pm

Nice and effective, I think. It might be nice though if you showed that the second one jumped on was actually a key (by fading it out or something.) For awhile I just thought I had to find the first key and then jump on any regular block. I guess a little more visual feedback might be good is what I'm saying.

kirbytails7 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 5:56am

I'm digging the idea. This is pretty solid, though it is a bit tricky.

KuGrou says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Cool idea, though it felt too tough to avoid enemies and traps given the controls and small space. Though I think this could be really fun with more time to refine those aspects.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:44am

really kool idea

BadPaul34 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 10:52am

Interesting idea and good implementation for a 13h game! But don't like so much the music. Monsters are fun and the gameplay too ;)

ndebruyn says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:23pm

I love this game. It is not only fun but it have that learning idea. Well done for this.

alhvi says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 6:49am

Really cool and original idea. I liked the combination of memory game with strategy and dexterity with the controls. Some enemies move too fast for me, but good job.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]