Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Grow Little Tree, Grow!

by elfeck - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first LD game written in Dart, using WebGL.

I hope you enjoy it.

==============================================
How to play: [Requires WebGL in Browser]
==============================================
* You have a tree
* Let the roots grow to water and ammonium (click with mouse)
* Grow your tree
* Whenever it grows it takes a toll on your supplies
* If you lack either water or ammonium your tree perishes

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#31Theme4.08
#45Innovation4.08
#156Fun3.58
#157Overall3.67
#260Mood3.38
#428Graphics3.35
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

Skencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:47am

very fun little game. The minimal graphics gave me a sense of nostalgia that really took me back. my only two complaints. not seeing the full tree (you know but what can you do....) and the ending message. I think I won but can't tell for sure.

CareForceOne says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:08am

A really interesting game. Its always fun to start with something small and have it end up being gigantic.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:14am

All you do is draw roots of a tree, I don't know how you made that fun, but you did, Well done. Seeing your tiny, single pixel, soon grow into a large, complicated structure is very cool. Great Job! :)

Cryptix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:33am

(I can't vote, as I didn't enter)
I think the game was really fun, especially the art style. The message about the tree was quite funny! Only thing was, i think I won as my tree had a healthy life.

I think, if this was ported to mobile and had a few more details it would be a nice app!

SleepyRhino says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:28pm

Found it very addictive

MAT4DOR says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Simple, but yet fun game! Good job!

rnlf says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:27pm

I liked it a lot. It doesn't really get harder with time, also there is no real indication of how well one is doing. But the idea and visuals are great.

Played it a few times!

Too bad you couldn't make the full tree :-(

graebor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:22pm

This was really cool! Very simple mechanic of drawing the roots, but it hooked me right away.

KayZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:34pm

Nice use of Dart. Addicting game :).

daredevildave says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Lovely, nice and fun, shame we didn't get to see the tree :-)

asotelo94 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:32am

Liked the root growing mechanic and the art style.

Halbernacht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:01am

Way more fun than what you'd expect. Kudos.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:41am

Really nice concept and game, I liked the blocky style. Would have liked to see the tree grow and maybe change depending on how well you did. An enjoyable game.

sam101 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:20pm

Nice game, the ending message was a little weird,it's too bad you didn't have time to make us see the tree. Still, a good take on the theme.

Crooksister says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Sweet idea, simple but effective.

xhunterko says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:33pm

It's a nice little game. I couldn't see the gui very well so I had little idea of what was going on.

ovenchips says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Delightful. Well done. It wasn't clear to me if you just run roots by water and ammonium or whether you have to drag the mouse into them. Roots didn't draw over the top of those blocks so I assume it's the former. Great little game - very original. Well done!

Danvil says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:57pm

I would soo much love to see the tree growing!

capnramses says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:40am

excellent! i wasn't sure what was going on for a while but eventually got the idea. i found it very hard but i think this was an awesome use of the theme. the rectangular canvas format is very appealing and yep i think it would work just as well on mobiles.

May 6, 2014 @ 4:29pm

A nice calm, relaxing game. The theme really tied everything together to make a complete experience.

Would have liked to have the pace increase a little faster with time. Great game!

pIMGale says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:11pm

great, i would love to see everyone else's roots after the game.

Almost says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:48pm

I didn't figure out why I was sometimes unable to place roots, although just waiting a bit and trying again or trying somewhere else usually worked.

My tree apparently died fulfilled, I don't know if that means that I won or lost.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]