Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Go Below

by GagaPete - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Find your way to collect all seven stars. If you believe that there is no way to progress, try to think beneath the surface. The game has a end-screen. ;)

Tested in Firefox and Chromium!

Sounds are muted by default, but can be unmuted using the M key.

My time is 114.2, probably beatable.

*Controls*
Arrow keys - movement and portal usage
Space - jump
F - Fullscreen (if supported)
M - Unmute / mute sounds

*Game don't show up? / Is slow?*
If the game is laggy, try resizing your browser window. If the game don't run at all, please provide the exact version of the browser you're using, so I can fix it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#7Theme4.26
#107Innovation3.86
#203Overall3.58
#237Graphics3.71
#261Fun3.40
#319Mood3.27
#421Humor2.63
#811Audio2.24

Comments

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:57am

Nice concept and graphics, really enjoy it!

Lee1121 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:40am

I didn't expect the portals would do what they did, so when I went through the ground I was really surprised XD.
I think this is a good game :).

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:14pm

Interesting concept. i think you should have stuck with a black and white palette though. lots of intersting puzzle ideas.

ShivanHunter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:19pm

182.6 seconds! It got slightly boring in the middle since there was a lot of backtracking (unless I missed something and did it wrong). Reminds me of an old Flash game I played a lot using a similar concept, but that's not a bad thing!

maxhaesslein says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Didn't work in Chrome on Mac, worked in Firefox though.
The idea is great! I liked the switching of the gravity! This is a really cool concept and I would love to see a full game with this mechanic!

Snoother says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:28pm

Neat concept. Has a distinctive style.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Really fun. Loved the mechanics put into it, very clever. Got stuck in the ground a few times though! Great game, good job.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Nice concept and graphics with original move. THX ++

fernandomdr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Really Cool Game :D

tschery says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:28pm

the web link doesnt work for me =\

tschery says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:51pm

awesome concept! it feels a bit like shift, color and gameplay wise, nevertheless this is really cool!

shubshub says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Reached an Unpassable wall although the Game was Pretty Fun it needs a Bit of Tweaking and More Audio

Gameplay Video: http://youtu.be/3OFoAvBPhXU [Should be Uploaded in about 30 Minutes]

lonewookie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:55am

Very cool mechanics. I got stuck in the ground at one point, but I think it's very unique and a lot of fun!

matt_j says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:40am

Doesn't load for me.

GagaPete says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:33am

Thank you all for your interesst and for the kind comments.
I'll fix Chrome and IE when I'm back at my own PC.

@ShivanHunter You probably did it right. I am not very comfortable with this part of the game but I'll shorten the dull walking parts if I do a post-compo version.

@shubshub Think beneath the surface, there is a way to pass this wall. But thanks for the video, it is pretty helpful. Noted that I need to keep the backtrack parts in the viewport to be more obvious. At least for the early stages of the game.

@Crawler Studios, @lonewookie If you mean you fall into this shafts, this was intentional. The game is meant to be partly trial and error. I may should indicate this or provide some way to escape such places for a timecost.

Tanner says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:41pm

Still doesn't working :/

GagaPete says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Dear fans ;) The game now works in Google Chrome (without sound, no support for .wav). I also tested IE 9 but that don't work. Some strange problem I'm afraid. Will test IE 10 and 11 later. That _should_ work.

jeffz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Looks great, except I couldn't see the portals for like 2 minutes. I don't think they have enough contrast or my screen isn't that great. Otherwise, well done!

smbe19 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:56am

I really liked the game, especially the idea and the graphics.

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Really great concept, felt some of the edge jumping was frustrating.

GagaPete says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:01pm

@jeffz Thanks for the feedback. I will improve visibility in a possible post-combo version.

@darkflamejam Will work on the edge jumps as well if I do a post-compo.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Really cool concept!

madmaw says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:50pm

Really innovative concept and on theme too!

Gap says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:12pm

I did already see the concept but you did really good job! Love it! @maxhaesslein It works for Chrome on Mac!

Garris says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Good idea. Good use of theme, and great graphical style. That was fun!

Xaychru04 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:44pm

I really liked the concept, my time was 155.8!

matt_j says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:46am

Interesting experiment!

May 3, 2014 @ 5:14am

Nice concept, really love the mechanics! I included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/vjBlRj2wHy8

petrih says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 10:29am

My time: 195.8 seconds.

May 3, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Cool idea. I've seen a few platform games this compo that use the double worlds mechanic, but this one is probably the most interesting. Nice smooth minimalist graphics, and sharp gameplay too.

King_Mew says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:36am

Played really nicely. It could have had some more puzzles, but it was still a lot of fun.

Larzan says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:35am

Great concept, like it

BadgerPriest says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:10am

Existing sound effects are nice, but definitely could use more/nice mood music. On my second playthrough I missed the star that you have to jump to and there's no way to recover from that, which is a shame. Since the goal is to have the best time I don't think it should become impossible to get it, just that you should have to take some time getting back to the jump spot.

whalebot says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 7:22pm

Pretty solid game you have here. I think it would be worth expanding.

rincewind_cz says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Nice, I really liked this. Nice graphics and overall feeling. Actual gameplay needs something more, now it gets repetitive little too fast. :-)

gre says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 9:07pm

The concept blew my mind, very cool! Graphics is minimalist but great.
It seems you can block your player in some place, this could be part of things to polish in the level design.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]