Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sea Fighters

by Julgodis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-= Description =-

Less then one week ago Alien fishes land their spaceshipes 'Beneath the surface' in the sea. Your mission is to destroy as many alien fishes as you can!

-= Made with =-

Code: HTML, Phaser JS
Art: Paint.Net
Sound: Garageband, Sfxr

-= Bugs =-

The game doesn't destory all the bullets properly, and the game will start to lower your fps if you do play for a long time.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#376Theme3.46
#390Fun3.21
#447Audio2.93
#502Overall3.23
#550Humor2.44
#600Graphics3.11
#619Mood2.92
#999Innovation2.45

Comments

tastyoishi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:56am

Really fun, I'm up to level 6 so far, the upgrades are a really good way to keep you playing. It would be good if you could upgrade while underwater, just waiting to die so I can upgrade :P

Fish were getting a little on the sparse side by level 7 so it was taking a while. I was playing on a laptop where I couldn't use the touchpad and press key's at the same time so that made things a little harder :)

Lrnk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:41am

Great fun! Love the bullet trails - really good feel

qntnm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:50pm

This is a great game to sink a lot of time into, the graphics options were a great touch, and the AI of the alien fishies was really nice.

jorgemoag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:51pm

The feedback loop is very nice, it keeps you playing. The graphics are fine, really I like it. Thanks!!

AgeNt_ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Fun little game. Pretty easy in the first few levels but then it gets a bit stale. But upgrades kept me wanting to keep on playing. Good job!

Seyroth says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:57pm

Pretty fun ! The gameplay's good, the alien AI isn't that straightforward, the difficulty is well tweaked.

aneeslol says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Nice game. The graphics are really well done, and the upgrades motivated me to keep playing. The only issue I had was that hitting space seemed to interfere with the mouse controls, and B was too awkward to press as an alternative.

tehryanx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:28pm

This was great. I LOVED the music, the rolling rhythm reminded me of a chiptune sea shanty. The only suggestion I have for you is maybe make your overlay a little more transparent because it's a little tough to see the sprites.

thx4nothing says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:33pm

The shots could get slower after some time.
The healthbar is rendered below the shots, and the text before the shots.

Strandmullen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:35pm

I liked the game a lot, especially the recoil effect. The upgrades were great and the controls as well.

What I'd like to have seen is being able to upgrade without killing yourself, some way to increase the difficulty and customizable upgrades.

dusho says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:41pm

was fun, looks nice and music was catchy
upgrades are forcing you to play further..

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Pretty fun little shooter, unfortunately at one point it glitched out on me and the screen went to all one color, and my game got reset as a result.

quill18 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Nice water effects!

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:14pm

I spent a lot of time playing this. It is really catchy and keeps you playing even after it stops being fun (kinda like cookie clicker).
The difficulty and the upgrade costs scale very well with the player development.

icereci says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:44pm

That enemy fire rate is crazy :)

StrykerKKD says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:44pm

Nice gameplay and the water effects are awesome.
For me the control of the ship was weird. I was expecting a spaceship kind of control.

malmazuke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Good game overall!

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Nice job, I like the underwater effects.

Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Reaonsably addicitve and cute game. Nice thing to while away time.

Ellian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Tight controls, that's nice. Good work here!

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Pretty cool, was fun to play! Wished for a bit more enemy variety, and the ability to pick my own upgrades, but solid work!

terraco says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Very fun. Great work.

adamwoolridge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:13am

Nice intro!

mollymus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:48am

Quite nice, but I think I would've enjoyed it better if it got harder faster! More alienfishes!:D I liked the music too, even though I had to turn my volume up to max just to hear it:7

Doubstract says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:16pm

Cool game, but it's too easy.

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:29pm

This was fun, I like the intro scene!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:14pm

love the gfx and sound.. for some reason when i press space to shoot my missile it scrolls the web page down ..tried clicking to give focus etc but still does it.. anyhoot it was fun without the missile :)

Lyje says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:47am

It's pretty challenging! Love the momentum on the ship. Yeah I'm always a fan of top down shooters like this. Good job doing a HTML5 game!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:22am

The most addictive game I've played so far! The upgrade mechanic is just top notch :)

randoman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:18am

As a fan of shooters I found this a great game! The screen is a little 'foggier' maybe, sometimes was difficult to see the shots

Sparrow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:44am

Nice game, graphics are sweet and it had a certain mood going on. You can really keep playing this for a long time if it weren't for the framedrop from the bullets. Though I would've liked for the death screen to not give me a gameover feeling.

Almax27 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Loved the graphics on this one, and excellent mood. Though I found the movement controls a bit too 'floaty' for my liking.

Menesetsu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Cute aliens, why do I have to kill them? :) Nice work!

MSaul says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:48am

Nice audio, not too invasive. Really adictive and fun to play. Good work.

Dreii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:50am

Really nice bullet effects and i love the minimalist death screen :)

petey123567 says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 11:45pm

More 'splosions!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]